The Floral and Coral Dress

I didn’t particularly care for Jocelyn as a top. I do not wear tops like that, the length was off to me. I did however like the cut and the fit of the top and I thought it would look good on me, work with my figure. So, with some inspiration from other Burdastyle users I elongated the top into a dress.

Looking back on my creations it seems like my signature has become mixing prints with solids (See Celestina, Michelle, Danielle) and I did the same thing here. I chose a beige flowered fabric for the main part of the dress and a coral fabric for the straps and the belt. I wanted a unique combination and the coral brings out a new side to the beige fabric, which has no touch of red or pink at all. I felt a bit unsure in the fabric store but I wanted to take a chance, not a very drastic one, but still it strays a bit from what I usually do. But I like it!

I finished the dress in almost a day, I had cut and zig-zagged the main pieces an earlier evening, I omitted the lining. It was fairly easy and straight-forward, although there was one point missing in the instructions (or maybe I just didn’t find it) about the third and fourth pieces of straps. Well, I figured it out.
I liked the back, I am a sucker for dramatic backs. I know this back isn’t very dramatic, but it’s still eye-catching and I love wearing this dress.

Project summary

Pattern: Burdastyle 6022, Jocelyn
Difficulty
: Intermediate (Burdastyle’s rating- I agree) It also felt like some of the instructions were missing regarding the sleeves, you are able to figure out how to do them, but it requires a bit of experince in how to put garments together.
Alterations: Elongated into a dress. I omitted the belt which was a passive decision since the sleeves required more fabric than I thoguht.

Fabric: Printed cotton and coral cotton poplin
Notions: Interfacing, invisible zipper.

Project summary: I love this dress! I love how it looks and I love to wear it. The thought of adding a belt has crossed my mind, but I would want it to match the sleeves and I haven’t found that coral poplin again. But it works on its own as well.

Leave a Reply

