This is not a Maddy

This fabric was bought ages ago with the intention of making the Maddy. Lo and behold it now has become the Maddy blouse!

Front view…

Techniaclly this is not really the Maddy blouse. Since before I had the Celeste pattern and have omitted the skirt part to make this blouse, which would be the Maddy. Hey, I didn’t feel like paying money for a pattern I already had.

The fabric is a cotton poplin, I’ve also used interfacing, thread and an invisible zipper in the back. Size-wise I cut a 38, except for the upper side panels which I cut in 40 (that’s where my bust is). When I made the Celeste dress I cut 40 and it was very big. So was this 38 and I have taken the blouse in a bit in the side seams to make it more fitted.

…and side view

Price for blouse:
Fabric: 105 SEK (€11.91)
Zipper: 25 SEK (€2.84)
Thread: 1 SEK (€0.11)
Interfacing: 10 SEK (€1.13)

Total: 141 SEK (€16.00)

Project Summary

Pattern: Burdastyle’s Celeste (8132B), modified into what would be Maddy (8132C).
Difficutly: Novice (Burdastyle’s rating – The sewing is fairly easy, although a bit tricky with the gatherings)
Alterations: Shortened it and turned it into a blouse.

Fabric: Cotton poplin
Notions: Invisible zipper, interfacing

Project rating: A lovely blouse. I love wearing things that are polished, but still not typical. This works in an office environment without being the classic buttondown. I also like that it’s feminine, not a feminine version of a male garment.

2 thoughts on “This is not a Maddy

Leave a Reply

