Exposed Zipper Skirt

A creation from my past, finally photographed. With “past” in this case I mean spring 2009 and it was finished (and worn) then. It’s not a UFO, just an overdue photoshoot.

My first exposed zipper

I had to put in an eye and hook since the zipper ended up a bit too low and it pulled the waistline into looking like I tried to squeeze into a skirt too small for me. I’ve done everything by the pattern; the exposed zipper, the long hem with contrasting thread. I’m currently wokring on a new version; in this one I will omit the long hem folding and no exposed zipper.

I like this skirt, it goes well for a business environment as well. There are, however, two things that bother me. The fact that the zipper doesn’t go all the way up and that I started the upper hem line in the front, I constantly look down thinking I have spilled something. Now I know for future projects!

Project Summary

Pattern: Burda WoF – 2009-01-105A
Difficulty: 2/5 (Burda’s rating – I agree, although the zipper is a bit tricky)
Alterations: None

Fabric: Cotton twill
Notions: Zipper, interfacing

Project rating: There are a few things which are off, but it was my first exposed zipper so I’ll overlook the zipper mistakes. This skirt is perfect for early Spring and into summer and works for both work and playtime.

 

Leave a Reply

