Denim Pencil Skirt

When I bought this denim, way back in April 2010 I envisioned it as a pencil skirt. While a more pouffy skirt was made first the vision was kept and I knew I had enough  to make this skirt as well.

I used the same pattern as I did with my Exclusive skirt since I liked it. It still became a very different skirt. The fabric is heavier so it falls differently, plus I made use of topstitching for this one. I also omitted the lining.

I really like the flattering look of this skirt. I wore it to work today and I felt great in it, it’s definitely a success!

Project Summary
Pattern:
Burdastyle Magazine 2009-01-128
Difficulty: 2 of 5 (Magazine’s rating) I agree.The trickiest part was the curved seams and if you just need to pay attention.
Alterations:
Omitted lining and buttons.

Fabric: Thick denim
Notions: Invisible zipper, thread (due to the thickness of the fabric I skipped the interfacing on the facing bits)

Total price: Fabric 35SEK (€3.96), zipper 23 SEK (€2.60), thread 1 SEK (€0.11). Total 59 SEK (€6.68)

Project rating: A quickie project which turned out as I had envisioned it when I bought the fabric (it doesn’t happen very often that the fabric turns out the way it’s supposed to with me). As I wore it to work I really loved wearing it and felt great in it. A great scrap bin find!

Leave a Reply

