Vlieseline Bias Tape

As many others before me, you know that Burda knit patterns most often calls for something called Vlieseline Bias Tape. Interfacing to be used around neck- and armlines.

I was d0wntown the other day and had some time to kill, so I figured I’d go the the big notion store to find this mystical elusive bias tape. Unfortunately I have no fabrics for my planned projects so I couldn’t make use of the big selection of zippers, buttons, ribbon, anything in a notions way.

I couldn’t find what I was looking for, so I asked a clerk. As it turns out they didn’t have it in stock, also they didn’t plan on getting it anytime soon as they needed to buy large quantities. She gave me a tip, though. She said I could take regular interfacing and just cut strips on the bias. So I did that. One of the sheets I had was made into bias tape of interfacing.

Whenever I’m on the floor cutting, the kiddo likes to sit on the fabric I’m cutting. That was the hardest part, otherwise, not so hard. Great tip, but bad for their business as I left the store emptyhanded.

2 thoughts on “Vlieseline Bias Tape

    • You’re welcome! It was such a great tip that I couldn’t not share it. Imagine all the time I’ve spent looking for this and I had it in my stash all along.

Leave a Reply

