October Top

This top was finished and also worn during Self-Stitched September. I needed more tops. It has its wonks, but I still like it, I particularly like the fabric. The fabric is a knit viscose which is soft and nice to wear.

The pattern is Burdastyle 04-2009-112, which is a pretty basic raglan sleeve t-shirt. It was also for this pattern I learnt how to self make Vlieseline bias tape. It was pretty easy to stitch up, the hardest part was keeping track of front and back pieces of the sleeves and body. Also my mind must not have been working right, because I could not figure out how to do the cuffs. They became my own version.

I don’t really know what I did, but they add a little extra touch to the top. They are a bit annoying, I will admit that, but for most part, I like them.

Project summary:
Pattern
: Burdastyle 04-2009-112.
Difficulty:2/5, BS’ rating – I agree
Alterations: Different cuffs. I didn’t fold the facing inwards after attaching it to the neckline.

Fabric: Viscose knit
Notions: Self-made Vieline bias tape, thread
Price: Fabric 120 SEK (€13), interfacing + thread 5 SEK (€0.54).
Total: 125 SEK (€13.54)

Project Summary: A basic, easy t-shirt pattern. I fell in love with the fabric from the catalogue, the colour was great for a basic. The shirt is comfortable, it was easy to sew and if I ever feel like making another t-shirt this pattern is a great candidate. The neckline is perfect.
As for the name of the project. The week I finished this October began and the Sew Weekly theme was Think Pink in honour of breast cancer awareness, so my top became the October top.

Leave a Reply

