Lessons Learnt Skirt

Back in July I listed what I’d learnt from Me-Made June. Now, as I’m on the Spring/Summer sewing of 2012 I try to use my lessons learnt to build my wardrobe. The first piece lives up to many of the lessons.

Lesson one: More solids and neutral

I found that while I’m drawn to prints in the fabric store, they are hard to match when it comes to wearing them. By making garments in neutral colours and solids they are easier to match and I get more use out of them. To make neutrals more interesting I must go for intersting cuts and lines.


Lesson two: More everyday clothes. Lesson three: Sew with a plan

An A-line skirt in a “simple” fabric is a perfect everyday skirt. It can be dressed up or dressed down. It’s a perfect basic in a sewing plan since it can go with prints and neutrals depending on my mood.

Lesson four: More separates. Lesson five: Use good quality fabrics.

Dresses become one outfit. Skirts and tops can become several outfits (back to lesson 3 about matching). This fabric is not a very hich quality, but I had the garment in mind when selecting it and thought about how it would look, how it would fall etc. The final result looks nice and clean and the fabric was a perfect match for an A-line skirt.

Lesson six: Pockets

I found that I often lacked pockets so I picked a model with pockets. The two pockets are sewn on, which made them easy.

My last lesson was “dare”. This does not come into play with this particular project, but it does for some of the things lined up in my future.

Project summary:
Pattern
: Burdastyle 10-2011-119
Difficulty:2/5, Burdastyle’s rating  – I agree. It was very simple sewing with no hard techniques.
Alterations: None

Fabric: Cotton.
Notions: Thread, zipper, interfacing.
Price: Fabric 69  SEK (€7.84), thread + interfacing  SEK (€0.11).
Total: 97 SEK (€11.03).

Project Summary: A skirt which is easy to wear and easy to match. It will have to wait for warmer weather, but I have a feeling that this will be yet another wardrobe staple for me.

2 thoughts on “Lessons Learnt Skirt

    • It’s so much fun to make my own clothes and I get extacly what I want and unique pieces too. Having guidelines is a good thing, whether it’s for sewing or shopping. Challenging your wardrobe is also good.

Leave a Reply

