Summer Sale

Summer means season sale! So also in my fabric store. I want a plan for my purchases and think of patterns as I look at the fabrics. It’s almost time to start making clothes for autumn and fall, so I’m trying to work that in as well although the sale is for summer fabrics. Here are six fabrics that I’m drawn to from the website (could be more in the store, I could drop any of these if they don’t feel/look nice IRL).

Top left: A grey voile with floral print. I like the vintage look of this, but I’m not sure it’s me. I want to make more tops and blouses, perhaps this will be a Taffy. This is priced at 39.95 SEK/metre.

Top middle: A plum patterned crepe voile. This, I think, would work for the colder season. The colour is perfect (I may have very much purple in my wardrobe). I just need to find a pattern to match it with. This is priced at 39.95 SEK/metre.

Top right: A cotton poplin. Yet another autumn/winter top or shirt. This is priced at 24.95 SEK/metre.

Bottom left: A thin bamboo twill. I have a skirt from the 05/2012 Burdastyle in mind for this fabric, if the fabric is sturdy enough. I might make a matching jacket too, again, if the fabric is sturdy enough. I love the colour, but I do worry it will look a bit washed out. This is priced at 39.95 SEK/metre.

Bottom middle: Printed cotton. I love the retroness of this. I think of all the pretty dresses that I saw during Me-Made-May and I want to be a part of that. Can I? This is priced at 24.95 SEK/metre.

Bottom right: Printed poly/cotton satin. Again, something others wear with style, can I also do that? Would I feel like in a costume in any of these fabrics? I hope not! This is priced at 39.95 SEK/metre.

These were the fabrics I was drawn to spontaneously, it’s weird that so many of them fall outside of what I normally go for. Things can change, the images on the website are small and there aren’t always pictures of the fabrics made up. Plus they sometimes have more in the store than on the website. I’m sure I can fill up my stash. I also see 3 fabrics I have previously bought, including the cotton satin which was used for my very popular Leaf Skirt and unblogged, slightly tight Leaf Dress. I’m quite sure that one of them has not been marked down.

The store is Stoff och Stil, they have plenty of fabrics for sale. Anything you’re drawn to?

Leave a Reply

