Inspiration: Sookie Stackhouse

Right now the husband and I are looking through True Blood (currently we have just begun season 3). May I just say I love Sookie’s wardrobe? Every spring and early summer I get a craving for summer clothes (and I don’t think I’m the only one) and since Sookie lives in Louisiana she has plenty of cute summer wear.

I’m not a big jeans (the pants) person, but I really like using denim for other garments (Denim Pencil Skirt, Namesake Skirt). I love the neckline and the mustard cardigan is perfect colourwise. I want some mustard in my wardrobe.

I can’t say if this is a top or a dress. The neckline is lovely and I like the seaming under the bust, it’s too bad the picture doesn’t show more of it.

I’ve been eyeing lace for quite a while and this is a very appealing way of wearing lace. I like the combination of lace – a delicate material – and denim – a rawer material. Is this outfit appropriate for work?

This is Sookie’s engagement dress. It’s just gorgeous! The cut, the colour, the drape the length! The only thing I’d change would be to make the shoulder straps a bit wider to balance out the top and bottom.

Sookie has a wonderful wardrobe of summer dresses and I sometimes find myself wonder why I don’t live in a warm climate, such as Louisiana. Then I think back of my April visits there and wonder how incredibly hot it must be there during summer. Plus, had I lived there I’d probably work indoors anyway and been forced to wear plenty of clothes to counteract the air conditioning.

All photos come from Sookies page of IMDb. There you can see more of her lovely dresses as well as the inspiration for my Sookie dress.

Leave a Reply

