Pretty In Pink

The latest addition to the Eitchy 2008 spring/summer collection, a pink dress. The pattern I used was Danielle.

I realised I rarely use patterned fabric so with this design I used a small print pattern (I did the same with the Celestina dress). Maybe some day I’ll dare to really use patterns on fabrics.

I found a lovely pink/apricot cotton fabric, I also managed to find a cotton ribbon in the exact shade of the pattern on the fabric. I’m ready for spring and summer!

Project Summary:

Pattern: Burdastyle 9306, Danielle
Difficulty: Novice (Burdastyle’s rating – I agree)
Alterations: Replaced inset with ribbon.

Fabric: Printed cotton, cotton ribbon
Notions: Invisible zipper, interfacing

Project rating: Love this dress! Figure flattering, for me, and simple to sew. I really like the silhouette.

ETA:
And the dress in action, picture taken in Monte Carlo in September 2008.

The yachts and a homemade dress

Pattern Description:
Danielle, dress from Burdastyle
Pattern Sizing:
Burda 34-44 (I used 40)
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes. My sleeves didn’t turn out as poofy, but that was my own fault, I cut the elastic band too loose.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Simple dress to put to together, no unusual details. Pretty straight-forward. (The instructions on the site has changed from the ones I used)
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I liked the shape, a shape that would flatter my figure, by going in under the bust. There was nothing I disliked.
Fabric and other material used:
Printed cotton. Cotton band. Interfacing and invisible zipper.
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
I used a cotton band under the bodice instead of making the insets. It worked as well, although the band had to have very little seam allowance since it was so thin.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
(Since I’m writing this review long after I made this dress). Yes, in fact I have made two tops with this pattern. I would also recommend it for someone taking their next step in sewing, having passed the first stages of beginner. The only tricky part would be the sleeves, but with focus they’re not too hard. (see here and here for the two other versions)
Conclusion:
A nice shape of a dress, with some twist to it. Simple and interesting. Easy pattern.

Leave a Reply

