The Beach Wedding (Guest) Dress

The other project I finished over my sewing weekends, the Minna dress. It was a bit tricky with all the pleating and gathering, especially fitting the placket over the shoulders, when fitting had to be done with plenty of needles in place. In the middle of the project I was spectical of the outcome, but it did turn out better than I thought. I added darts in the back, for a better shape of the dress in the back and by pulling the fabric it also became more fitted in the front.

I love the back cleavage, I’ll wear this

dress to a beach wedding in two weeks, let’s hope the weather gods are on the happy couple’s side, for all reasons, not just for me of course.

It’s a nylon fabric, I’m not good with “official” fabric names, so I won’t even make a guess. It’s shimmering in Red/orange/yellow and has small transparant golden flowers printed in dots on it. Sound confusing? Well, the closeup of the fabric showed it off just as well as my description.

 

Project summary

Pattern: Burdastyle 6007, Minna
Difficulty: Novice (Burdastyle’s rating – I partly agree. Simple conatruction, but tricky fitting)
Alterations: Added darts in the back

Fabric: Nylon taffeta
Notions: Invisible zipper

Project rating: It flattered me more than I thought it would. Very tricky when fitting, otherwise simple.

 

One thought on “The Beach Wedding (Guest) Dress

Leave a Reply

