Project Anda, Part I

As I’m working on Burdastyle‘s mini-challenge with the Anda dress and I know Project Runway is starting up (yay!) I’m going to make my own documentary over my Anda progress. Will anyone care? I have absolutely no idea. But I want to charter my process, and I’m living in my fantasy world that my creation will turn out great and people will ask for my changes (a girl can dream, can’t she?), so then there’s need to charter the process. Consider this the contestants interview, the only thing I’m the only one talking.

I spent yesterday working on my sketches, I know what I want to do. I want to trun the dress into more fitting for a fuller figure, such as mine. I know I’m not plus size, but I’m not stick thin either and that dress will not good look on me. So my idea is fully worked out in my head, the hard process is to get it out of there on onto the fabrics.

Yesterday I printed and assembled the pattern and started to convey my sketching to it. It’s hard to tell how the fit will be when trying it on pattern paper.

I bought my fabric today. I knew I wanted stripes for the look I was going for, I was eyeing some gorgeous Italian cotton, but the price was a little too much for an experimental project. So I bought some cheaper fabric, still striped, I hope it will convey my idea, if it turns out nice I might do it in a more expensive fabric. Or maybe I will like the original so much that I don’t need another version. I could crash and burn easily.

So, starting out, I’ve decided to take some risks with both the altering, as in I don’t really know what I’m doing, and the fabric as it’s not really my style, but budget issues came in the way, if I do crash and burn, which is just as likely as being successful, at least I haven’t wasted a lot of money.

Stay tuned for the second episode (this reality show has no set schedule, but with the deadline on Jul 27th, it will definitely take up a lot of my time)

Leave a Reply

