Creation: Mock Wrap Top

A top from BWoF 1/2009, a mock wrap top.

I used a small print jersey for this, cut in size 38 and elongated. I chose this top since I thought it would flatter my figure, which it did. I like the gathering over the stomach as it hides the stomach (mine is a little out of shape at the moment). I like V-necks on me, this however is a bit too low, so I must wear a cami underneath it, the technical drawing looked higher, but I read on some websites that the neckline came out lower than expected.

While looking a bit complicated it actually wasn’t, it was mostly my screw-ups that made this top more difficult (my machine settings were off, despite my changing them and I accidentily put on one sleeve upside down). But eventually I was able to finish the top, I’ve worn it to work since then, it’s comfortable and stylish.

Project Summary

Pattern: BWoF 2009-01-110
Difficulty: 2/5 (Burda’s rating – I agree, simple construction but concentration is needed)
Alterations: None

Fabric: Printed cotton jersey
Notions: Interfacing tape

Project rating: A simple top, with some stupid mistakes. A great everyday top. I can see myself making this again in a “happier” print.

Leave a Reply

