Likes and Dislikes

As part of the personal style project I’m trying to find inspiration everywhere. Retrochick suggested saving pictures for a personal lookbook and draw inspiration from there. So that’s what I’ve done, and now I’ve tried to gather all that inspiration into what I like. And, since it’s easy being negative, I’ve also made a list of things I don’t like, since sometimes likes and dislikes work in pairs. Sorry, you won’t get a collage with my inspiration, I’m no good at that.

So my likes are:

  • Colour – as opposed to black (I still haven’t figured out what colours suit me, though)
  • Feminine shapes (I do like the shapes of the 50s and going towards the rock style of the 50s, not fully rockabilly, though)
  • Figure-flattening – as opposed to shapeless (With a shape like mine, you don’t want to end up looking bigger than you are)
  • Unusal takes on classic shapes (sure I like the pencil skirt, A-line dresses, but it has to have a little extra)
  • Plaid, in moderation (as I go through my pictures, many of them feature plaid, I guess I should incorporate that into my wardrobe more)
  • Sleek – as opposed to too much going on (I don’t like adding and adding, my outfits should be simple and make a statement through that.  Another opposite to this would be cutesy, such as ruffles and frills, which don’t flatter me and I just don’t like)
  • Functional, yet stylish (boring, but I need my clothes to not only look good, but to be comfortable and practical for the life I’m living)

So, that’s the first step taken towards a new personal style for me. Of course, this will continue to evolve over the time to come. At least I have the first part down, I know what to look for and what I don’t need to waste my time with.

I know that I like unique things, which I inevitably will get if I make my own clothes. I have seen the Wardrobe refashion pledge over the web where they pledge to not buy new clothing for a select period of time. I feel, that while it would be cool, I could never do that. Firstly I don’t really want to spend my time making “basic clothes” such as t-shirts, tanks, “basic” skirts and pants. Secondly, I’m about to be a parent, I don’t know what time I’ll have to work on my sewing and crafting. I’m hoping I will have some time for myself, but I also know not to count on it.

I’ve really felt that with this exercise I’ve began looking at pictures and clothing with new eyes. It’s easier to look past the looks I don’t like and focus on the ones I do like, this makes it much more interesting to read magazines and catalogues.

Sorry, long, rambling post, but I find it interesting that such an easy exercise can do so much for me. Now I just need to figure out what my next step will be.

2 thoughts on “Likes and Dislikes

  1. Hey, sometimes it really is easier to get a sense of what you don’t like than what you do! Nothing wrong with a little process of elimination.

    I actually have done the WR pledge before–ended up doing it for about a year straight, I think. In many ways, it was a positive, eye-opening experience for me. I do like both thrifting and reconstructing clothes, and for me, trying to recycle a failed sewing project or a thrift store find with great fabric and horrible shape into something new and unique is a fun challenge. And it really does give you a lot to think about in terms of where your clothes come from, both in terms of impact on the environment and the lives of the workers who make them. But it is also a bit frustrating when dealing with clothes that are more annoying to make and hard to thrift, like those basics you mentioned. Or, say, socks and underwear. (Though I have seen several ladies on there who do make their own underwear!) I finally let my pledge lapse at the end of last summer because I knew I needed to get several things for work, namely pants, which I have had only limited success in sewing for myself so far and are also often hard to find secondhand. I won’t say I’ll never do it again–I know I’m going to keep playing around with clothing refashions, if nothing else, and trying to minimize my wardrobe’s environmental impact and dependence on sweatshop-made clothes. But for now, as I’m also trying to figure out my basic style/wardrobe needs and fill in some major holes, I’m ok with having that restriction of not buying anything new lifted off of myself.

  2. Fantastic!

    I think what colours suit you is almost irrelevant if you feel good in something. And if it really doesn’t suit you, you probably won’t feel good!

Leave a Reply

