Owl Dress for Niece

I bought this fabric back in May, when my baby hadn’t made his appearance into this world. But even then, without knowing what to make, I had my niece in mind for the owl fabric, not my unborn child.

For her first birthday I used the fabric and made her a dress. I used the TAMI Tee dress pattern.

Two back pieces…

The pattern calls for one front and one back piece. But since I’m not that good with thinking I cut the back piece upside down, I’m not just to working with fabrics with one direction prints. Hopefully I’ll remember this until next time.

Interfacing tape was used for the edges

The fabric was quite light so I put interfacing tape at the edges to get some more stability. I also put two snaps in the neckline since niece’s shoulders were too narrow for the neck opening.

The finished dress

Her mom (my sister) liked it and I think that niece did too, as much as a one-year old can express it.

Project Summary

Pattern: TAMI tee dress from Burdastyle, creator Arsonista
Difficulty: Novice (creator’s rating – I totally agree)
Alterations: Added snaps

Fabric: Cotton jersey
Notions: Interfacing tape, snaps

Total price: Fabric 27 SEK (€2.88), Thread + interfacing 1 SEK (€0.11), snaps 2 SEK (€0.22).
Total 30 SEK (€3.22)

Project summary: Snaps were added as the neckline was too wide. A wide neckline is needed on toddler, but this one wouldn’t stay on her shoulders. But with snaps it worked. A very, very simple project!

One thought on “Owl Dress for Niece

Leave a Reply

