The Plaid’n’Wrap Skirt

My second creation of the year is a plaid wrap skirt. The idea to make a plaid skirt has existed in my mind for quite a while (and the idea has taken at least one unsuccessful turn before).

Fall Fashion

I’ve given up the idea to make my own patterns and will use what someone else has done. I did, however, draft this pattern myself with the help of a sloper skirt and instructions on how to turn this sloper pattern into a wrap skirt. It’s three pieces to this skirt, one back and two fronts. I used interfacing along the waist line and the skirt closes with two buttons. There’s also one snap holding up the inner piece.

In my garden…

The fabric is a polyester blend, beige and black with small silver threads in it. Quite easy to work with and the polyester is OK since this skirt will never be worn close to my skin, there will always be stockings in between.

Closeup of fabric and buttons

Project Summary:

Pattern: Self-drafted from pattern book
Difficulty: Easy

Fabric: Plaid polyester with silver Lurex
Notions: Two buttons, interfacing

Total cost: Fabric 42 SEK (€4.58), buttons, thread, interfacing 10 SEK (€1.09)
Total: 52 SEK (€5.67)

Project rating: A great plaid skirt! Perhaps it needs to be shortened a bit, but that’s easily taken care of.

Leave a Reply

