The Three Year Blouse

I think I began working on this blouse in 2007. Or perhaps 2008, I’m not quite sure. It’s Burdastyle’s Ellinor Blouse.

Finally Finished!

It’s supposed to be a loose fitting tunic, but along the way it has become a more fitted blouse. I can’t have something hanging straight down from my chest, it’ll look like a tent. I cut a size 40, after construction I realised that it was too big and shapeless and that’s where I left it un-finished all those years ago.

Not a loose-fitting tunic anymore

Since I had already added the sleeves the fitting became a bit tricky. But I managed to loose about 5 cm in each side from the back piece and also added darts in the back for a better shape. I also shortened the top (I think I added length when it was cut, but I ‘m not sure).

Keyhole with an eye and hook

I liked the keyhole neckline, even though I’ve closed it a bit, I wanted to be able to wear the blouse without anything underneath. I’m quite happy with how it worked out in the end, but I still haven’t figured out how to match it with other clothes. That’s what I need to learn, how to build outfits and not have just separates. Pattern Description: Ellinor, Burdastyle 8516. A Loose-fitting tunic with wide sleeves. Pattern Sizing: 36-46. I cut 40 and then made modifications. Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Not quite since I did some changes for fit. But without them it pretty much looked the same. Were the instructions easy to follow? I don’t remember… What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked that it was a tunic with definition. Also the keyhole neckline. Fabric and other material used: Cotton fabric. Cotton lace for neckline. Thread. Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I tried to cut it in two sizes, it worked a bit but not all the way. The sides are taken in, the back part, and darts are added in the back. The keyhole neckline is more closed than the description calls for. Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? It’s an easy pattern so a great beginner project. I might sew it again, I have a chiffon fabric I might make into the Ellinor – modified. Conclusion: Good beginner pattern, with some modifications it worked for my shape as well.

Leave a Reply

