Permission to shine

Once upon a time, in the beginning of the naughties, there was a band called Bachelor Girl. Their big hit CD was Waiting For The Day with Buses and Trains as the major single.

Another song on the CD was Permission to Shine. I don’t listen to the CD that often, but occassionally this song comes back to me. I love the message of the song and to some extent it does fit on me. I’ve been hiding, not wanting to stand out too much with my clothing, worrying to much what others might think of me.

But now, inspired by this song and lovely ladies blogging, I’m going to give myself the permission to shine. I won’t care what others think, if I dress up too much for the baby café. I want to look good, I want to feel good.

Part of the song, besides shining yourself, is also gonna light up the night, shine a little of my light on the world. I choose to interpret this as letting others shine. Complimenting people, accepting compliments. Generally, here is Sweden we are not good at this.

So now, I’m gonna give myself permission to shine. I’m gonna shine so bright, gonna make every head wanna turn, you’re finally gonna see me. Give myself permission to shine. I’m gonna light up the night, shine a little of my light on the world.

Thanks to my new complimenting ways I was tipped on where to buy cute socks.

Leave a Reply

