The Technique I Truly Master

There are a gazillion techniques in sewing and the possibilites of what you can do with a needle and thread are endless. My knowledge of sewing is not very big, but I know enough to make garments. They’re not the most complicated garments, but so far I’m pleased. Someday I want to take courses to learn more.

However, there is one technique that I truly master. I rock at it! I’ll let the picture speak first.

Can you see them?

My Not-a-Maddy blouse and my current project (hence the raw edges) (and it’s wet from the latest bout with the iron) volunteered to demonstrate my best technique. If you look at the top of each seam you’ll see that this is not your ordinary seam, rather it’s and invisible zipper in each of them. You can’t hardly tell!

I put them in with the regular zipper foot and I’ve really learnt how to do it, so it doesn’t take a lot of time, while keeping in mind that a good prep work is key. I don’t even know how to put in a regular zipper anymore, it’s always invisible ones for me.

Proud

Reading sewing blogs it seems that many of them are much more skilled than me, so I just had to tell myself that there are things I’m good at in sewing.

Invisible zippers are one.

Leave a Reply

