The Italian Skirt

Another photo shoot way overdue. Well, also because I cut the skirt too narrow back then and it didn’t really fit me. Now it fits, I wear it and it’s as gorgeous as ever!

The fabric was a real find, unfortunately it was due to the fabric store closing. It is and Italian cotton, very nice quality and really soft. The purple and light blue line shimmer against the dark brown.

Lovey fabric, simple skirt

Since the fabric was so lovely I wanted a simple skirt design to highlight it and not distract from it. I used this tutorial from Burdastyle. It was a simple tutorial to follow and a simple skirt to sew. I also added pockets, however they turned up a bit too low and a bit too narrow.

Twirl!

The skirt is perfect for twirling! I’ve also added a lining skirt underneath to get more pouffiness. I’m very pleased with this skirt, from fabric (love, love, love it!) to execution.

A work I’m proud of!

Project Summary

Pattern: Tutorial from Burdastyle
Difficulty: Easy
Alterations: None

Fabric: Italian cotton, polyester lining.
Notions: Invisible zipper

Project rating: The tutorial is called “quick party skirt” and it is. Easy and fun to wear!

Leave a Reply

