The Orangery Skirt

Orangery – A greenhouse for tropical plants

The name for this skirt seemed fitting as the skirt is orange and with flowers.

The pattern is Burda 2009-01-105, just like my Exposed Zipper Skirt. The fabric was bought before I began thinking of planning my sewing and making matchable pieces; I guess a bright orange skirt is hard to match.

I think this fabric and the skirt pattern go hand i hand, they complement and bring out the best in each other. For this version I omitted the exposed zipper and sewed an invisible one in the side seam.

Despite its matching difficulties, I love this skirt! It’s cute, very summery and just fun to wear!

Project summary

Pattern: BWoF 2009-01-105
Difficulty: 2/5 (Burda’s rating – I agree)
Alterations: Omitted exposed zipper, used an invisible one in the side seam for closure. Normal hemline (see the original one in my Exposed Zipper skirt).

Fabric: Printed cotton
Notions: Invisible zipper, interfacing

Project rating: A great summer skirt! An interesting fabric doesn’t need an elaborate pattern, so this one was perfect.

Leave a Reply

