Exclusive Skirt

This skirt was produced during me-made-June and worn as well, in what happened to be one of my favourite outfits from the month. It was a simple skirt to make and my challenge was that it was the first time that I made a full lining.

As seen in Me-Made-June

The pattern is Burdastyle Magazine 2009-01-128 and is an exclusive design made by Laurél. The only tricky part was the curved seams on the waistband, otherwise it was pretty straight-forward.

Curved seams for waistband

I really liked the unusal waistband for the skirt. The fabric is a linen look, pink with a silver print. I was thinking of making a short jacket, but there wasn’t enough fabric for it. Perhaps a vest!

Kick pleat in the back

I like wearing this skirt, pencil skirts make you feel elegant and ladylike without really trying. So, my challenge was to make a full lining. It wasn’t as hard as I thought, but some mistakes were made.

The lining was added to the facings and then turned around with them. I like the finished look the skirt gets from being lined. However, I somehow managed to end up with more narrow lining pieces than the skirt itself so I couldn’t attach the lining to the hem all way round. It pulls a little as well, but I don’t think anyone but me notices. But I like that I took one more step forward in sewing and fully lined a skirt. Next time it’ll be even better.

Project Summary Pattern: Burdastyle Magazine 2009-01-128 Difficulty: 2 of 5 (Magazine’s rating) I agree.The trickiest part was the curved seams and if you just need to pay attention. Alterations: None Fabric: Linen look, polyester lining Notions: Invisible zipper, eye and hook, thread, interfacing Total price: Fabric 33 SEK (€3.74), zipper 23 SEK (€2.60), lining 33 SEK (€3.74), interfacing and thread 5 SEK 0(€0.57). Total 94 SEK (€10.64) Project rating: I love how dressed up you feel just by putting on a pencil skirt. I think the shape is flattering on me and I like the feeling of it. This fabric is pretty neutral, but with the twist of the silver print. I learnt a lot by the lining, especially since it didn’t come out perfectly, it’s the mistakes you learn from. A look I like, and a great find from the scrap bin of the fabric store. My review on Pattern review

2 thoughts on “Exclusive Skirt

Leave a Reply

