The Librarian Skirt

The first time I saw this fabric in the catalogue I fell in love, I knew I had to have it. I wanted a simple skirt to show off the fabric and for some reason the finished skirt makes me feel like a librarian – hence the name of the skirt.

The pattern is self-drafted with the help of my trustworthy pattern-drafting book. It’s a simple A-line skirt with a waistband and a side zipper.

It looks pretty much the same from the back and the front. Perhaps I need to be aware that I should pull it down in the back.

I’m not 100% happy with the waistband, but it’s OK. I took the time to find a fun button in stead of going for a generic one. The button is nothing special, but I thought it was very pretty and completed the circular theme of the skirt.

Project summary:
Pattern:
Self-drafted from pattern book
Difficulty: Easy. The hardest bit was the zipper.

Fabric: Brushed cotton twill.
Notions: Invisible zipper, button, thread

Project rating: It’s not often I fall in love with a fabric, but with this I did. If my mum was here she’d totally call it a “Helena fabric”. I envisioned the fabric as an A-line skirt and I fulfilled that vision. Another successful project!

Price:
Fabric 125 SEK (€14.15), zipper 23 SEK (€2.60), button +  thread 30 SEK (3.40).
Total 178 SEK (€20.15)

2 thoughts on “The Librarian Skirt

  1. It’s cute! I like the print, I can see why you snatched it up.

    And since I’ve been catching up on posts after a few days’ absence, congrats on finishing the pants! They look great!

Leave a Reply

