Skirt without Bow

This pattern is called “Skirt with bow details”. I did the skirt without the bow.

The pattern is Burdastyle 2010-04-125, a pencil skirt with a flounce. The bow should go on the back of the flounce, but, as reviewers on Pattern Review, noticed, you’d sit on it. I omitted it and I still like the look of the skirt.

I like that the pleat (which I see doesn’t lay right in this picture) adds a bit of fun to an ordinary pencil skirt. One thing to watch is that the back of the flounce falls lower than the front and the inside of the fabric (as well as the hem) will be seen.

When I went to the fabric store I, on purpose, did not buy any thread, figuring I had a bunch of spools at home. That’s why I have a contrast thread.

This pattern was featured in the Burdastyle magazine and can also be found as a downloadable from their website. Just when they put it up to the website it was free, so I was able to snatch this (and a few more) patterns for free!

I really like the style of this skirt and it’s a great neutral that will work with many things. My review on Pattern Review.

Project Summary
Pattern:
Burdastyle #04-2010-125, Skirt with bow details
Difficulty: Intermediate (BS’ rating). The construction was quite simple, but the download instructions were scarce and some experience is needed to crack them, or to be able to read the technical drawing.
Alterations: None. Omitted bow.

Fabric: Cotton twill
Notions: Invisible zipper, interfacing, thread

Project rating: The skirt is quite simple and works for a work environment, but adds a little excitement with the flounce. I really like the style of this skirt.

Price: Fabric65 SEK (€7.36), lining 20 SEK (€2.26), interfacing + thread 5 SEK (€0.57), zipper 23 SEK (€2.60)
Total: 110 SEK (€12.45)

Leave a Reply

