Groovy Grocery Shopping

Last year I made some of my Christmas presents (purses, children’s aprons). This year I haven’t felt the same inspiration, however after reading the Crafty Christmas Club it came sneaking up on me. So, yesterday I finished my first me-made Christmas gift.

This is how I will present the gift as it shows off the feature off putting the bag into its own pouch. It also shows the error I made in that the pouch is inside out. Ah well, it fulfills its purpose.

As you may have guessed my gift is the popular Charlie bag from Burdastyle. I had this leftover fabric and used it to make a bag. I had hoped it would be enough for two bags, but I only managed to squeeze in one. This will be a gift for either my grandparents or my aunt and uncle. I will go to the fabric store tomorrow and see if I can find some more cheap fabric in the scrap bin and make some more. The bag was so quick to sew up and easy that they’ll be the perfect gifts!

Project summary:
Pattern
: Burdastyle Downloadable #017, Charlie.
Difficulty:Novice, BS’ rating – I agree somewhat. The sewing itself was easy, but the instructions were a bit hard to understand. I don’t think I’ve sewn the handles correctly, so I hope they’ll hold up anyway.
Alterations: None

Fabric: Printed cotton, a curtain fabric.
Notions: Thread
Price: Fabric 27 SEK (€2.91), thread 1 SEK (€0.11).
Total: 28 SEK (€3.02)

Project Summary: A simple project, I finished the bag in a little over an hour. The instructions left much to be desired though. I think it’ll make a great gift for some people, though.

Leave a Reply

