Cross-stitching

In October I visited a flea market where they had brought out the Christmas decorations. It was too early for me to buy Christmas things, but some banners and table-runners caught my eye, those in cross-stitch. It felt wrong to buy someone else’s work, so I ordered myself a full kit to make my own banner. The kit included fabric, yarn, instructions and a needle.

I spent many evenings in front of the TV stitching away and on the evening of the 22nd of December I finished my banner, although it still needs to be signed. It was fun, although since I had a deadline it sometimes felt more like a chore than a hobby. However, it was a pretty good pregnancy craft to keep myself occupied with something. I’m rather proud and I think it will feel great next Christmas when it will be part of our decorations.

I can imagine doing more cross-stitching and embroidery in the future, without a set deadline. It was a great change in my crafting adventures.
image

Leave a Reply

