Picks of Burda Feb 2013

After seeing previews and selections of other bloggers for this issue I went into the French Burdastyle site to see all of the previews myself. I think I need to pick up this issue as it has several knit tops and dresses, which is something I need. Plus there are some other cute designs too.

I really like this asymmetrical knit top (109), which also comes as a dress by adding a skirt panel. Others have expressed reservation towards the asymmetrical hem, but I don’t really mind it. For the dress it’s essential and for the top it’s easily fixed if one doesn’t like it.

Another basic knit top (113), with a twist. This also comes as a dress option. I would probably make it a bit more fitted than the model in the magazine, but it’s still a basic pattern which can be made into both long and short sleeved tops.

Yup, another knit top (127) with a dress option. Gathered raglan sleeves and for this top I can see myself playing with colour and prints on the bodice and sleeves, as well as sleeve lengths.

Onto the dresses… (which will be for an upcoming summer)

This maxi dress (115) is gorgeous and maxi dresses are so comfortable for summer days and summer evenings.

This short dress (118) is really cute and seems like it can work in the office and after hours. I’m not sure about the fraying details, though, but I don’t need to add them. I prefer a finished look!

This dress (122) is fairly simple, but also a quick dress which would be a great casual weekend dress.

I have never made jackets or any other outerwear for that matter, but I somewhat drawn to this jacket (125). Perhaps not in a shiny red fabric, but in a more muted color. I can’t really decide about it, but since it feels like I will buy this issue anyway, I don’t have to decide right now.

I think I will buy this issue since I like so much (sometimes I end up liking more than I first thought, and I haven’t really thoroughly looked at pants and skirts

I’m also REALLY tempted to buy the Tiramisu dress. Whenever I see it, I drool.

Leave a Reply

