Metal Cardigan

I picked up a scrap piece of jersey some time ago. At that point I had no plan, but I found a cardigan pattern so I decided to make my fabric into a cardigan.

The fabric is a jersey with the print “Hard”, “Rock” and “Metal” which I thought was fun since it’s still discrete but still showing my taste in music.

Metal Cardigan (2)

The cardigan has ruffles along the bottom, I omitted one line of ruffles since I thought they fell too high on me. Unfortunately, despite following the pattern, they ended up in different heights on the left and right, but I don’t think anyone will notice. I’m thinking of adding a hook and eye to close the cardigan over the bust.

Metal Cardigan (3)

It was a pretty simple cardigan to sew, technically, but sewing all those gathers for the ruffles is so monotone. No pain, no gain, right?

Project summary:

Pattern: Sömnadsmagasin 02-2012-123
Alterations: Removal of one line of ruffles
Difficulty: Easy

Fabric: Printed cotton jersey.
Notions: Interfacing, thread

Estimated price: I haven’t written down the price of the fabric, so no price estimation

Project Rating: I do need more layering pieces and this cardigan is fun with the print. I’m pretty sure I will add that hook and eye to keep it from just hanging off me. Plus it is one step in my getting over my fear of knits.

And yup, that’s me about 29 weeks pregnant, the picture was taken 4 weeks ago. And yeah a real post about a creation, not just sneak peeks and walls of text regarding style!

2 thoughts on “Metal Cardigan

Leave a Reply

