Heavenly Nursing Dress

Heavenly Nursing Dress (3)Boob*, eat your heart out! I made myself one more nursing garment, this time a dress. I made use of what I learned during the making of the Cassette Nursing Top and therefore this version has some minor differences from the top.  Heavenly Nursing Dress (5)To get a definition of the dress I put an elastic in the hem of the shorter front. The shorter front on the dress also comes higher than on the t-shirt, I wanted to shorten it compared to the top, but it became even shorter as I missed to catch the hem in my twin seam. It came out perfect, I think. The elastic is also shorter in the dress version than the t-shirt version.Heavenly Nursing Dress (4)

I made the dress sleeveless, so I attached the two bodices both along the neckline and the armhole. For the back neckline and armhole I stabilised it with interfacing bias tape and hemmed it with the twin needle (I’m so glad I took the machine to the shop and finally figured out how to sew knits).Heavenly Nursing Dress

The fabric I used is a light blue, ecological fine rib knit. Since I hadn’t tried out the tutorial before buying the fabric I chose as cheap as I could get, without cutting back too much on quality. The fabric is very soft and drape-y, more so than the cassette fabric (which probably wouldn’t have worked so well as a dress). Plus, it’s the colour of my hometown’s football/soccer team, usually called heavenly blue, hence the name of the dress.

Just like the t-shirt I used my TNT knit top/dress pattern Burdastyle 01-2009-106 (both a top and a dress pattern, just elongation and shaping). I do however need to find new top patterns.

Project Summary:
Pattern: Burdastyle 01-2009-106, dress version.
Alterations: Altered into a nursing top using Christina’s tutorial. Removed sleeves altogether.
Difficulty: Easy

Fabric: Ecological light blue fine rib knit.
Notions: Self-made interfacing bias tape, thread, elastic.

Estimated price: Fabric 100 SEK (€), notions 10 SEK (€). Total 110 SEK (€)

Project Rating: I really like this dress and hope it will fit me well come nursing time. Right now it’s, obviously, a bit clingy, but the fabric has a nice drape and I think it will be a summer favourite for me. I love the softness of the fabric, I will remember to look for more fine rib knits as my store’s selection usually are a bit heavier.

*Boob is a Swedish brand, focusing on maternity and nursing wear in organic materials, with prices for dresses ranging from 500 SEK to 100 SEK (€58-116) . My fabric is also ecological and with a material cost of approx 110 SEK, way below their prices. I didn’t spend many hours on this, but I don’t know how to price my time.

Leave a Reply

