Top 3 of 2013: Reflections

wpid-11384379103_a621f96522.jpg

Moving on in my 2013 summary I have now reached the reflections part of the journey. This is the part where I look back on my behaviour and learn from it. This could be the most important episode in the series as it’s about myself and my sewing more than anything else. My three reflections of 2013 are: Make Time I need to set aside time for my sewing. This fall many hours have been spent on the TV couch, but I have been stitching on my cross stitch that time. Oce I’m done with that, or need a break from it, I will not sit on the TV couch just by routine, the sewing room chair offers so much more. I have also decided to start a regular workout and if I like it I will, starting in January, do judo on Tuesdays and Thursdays. This will leave Monday, Wednesday and Sunday for crafty adventures (Fridays and Saturdays we have family nights), I will make the most of these three evenings. However, if I am too tired I won’t beat myself up about an evening on the couch. Plan the Time I have started doing checklists of my projects this year and it’s a great way of knowing where to pick up a project. I write everything in a check-list from pre-washing fabric to hemming and every step in between. It’s a satisfaction to cross off a point and the next time I go to work I know exactly what to do. Plus, it forces me to read through the instructions before starting, letting me know if I can at all do it, or if I need some research in a particular area. Shortcuts I strive to work as quickly as possible, thereby taking a few shortcuts. However, most of these “clever” shortcuts end up taking more time than if I’d done it properly to begin with. Example: I was working on a t-shirt with gathered raglan sleeves. Lazy as I was I only did one row of gathering stitches making the gathers uneven and the pinning hard. I had to do and redo the seam, I don’t knopw how many times, but it was quite clear that had I taken the time to do the gathers properly from the start the whole process would have been much easier and I would have been less frustrated. Now it’s Christmas Eve and we’re off to the families for a few days to come. I’m hoping to put up inspirations and goals before New Year’s, but we’ll see. Until then I wish you all a very Merry Christmas!

4 thoughts on “Top 3 of 2013: Reflections

  1. I like the idea of a checklist for a project– it’s always so satisfying to check things off of a list! And then maybe I’d end up with fewer projects where I forgot to buy a zipper or something dumb like that.

  2. I’ve never heard of anyone writing out step-by step checkliksts in advance, but I bet that would work well for a lot of sewists! I’d say that as a group we tend to like control, perfectionism, and the satisfaction of accomplishing something tangible. I bet checklists give you all of that, plus keep you organised!
    Thanks for joining in the top 5 lists – I’m glad to get to know your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

