Wardrobe Architect: 5 Words of Me

When you are wearing your favorite clothing, how do you feel (e.g. confident, sexy, poised, powerful, etc)?
When wearing clothes I like, I feel poised, confident, empowered. I feel as if I can do anything and no one can get to me. Like I mentioned last week, I get this feeling when I put on my judo gi (which is the correct term for judo outfit) and that’s a feeling I wish to move over to my regular clothing. I think this will be more evident when  go back to work, right now I’m on parental leave and don’t really dress well since I spend a lot of time at home, on the playground and all outfits musts be breast-feeding friendly.

When you’re wearing something that is not quite right, how do you feel? What are the feelings you want to avoid about the clothes you wear?
When I was 18 I was given a corduroy blazer by my parents. When I put it on I felt like a little girl playing dress-up in my mum’s clothes and blazer still give me that feeling. I don’t feel old enough or haven’t been feeling confident enough to pull that off. I’m working on it. The feeling I get is best described in body language, it’s arms crossed over the chest, shoulders down, hunching and, if the clothes feel too short/too much cleavage, it’s a lot of tugging.

Who do you consider to be your style icons? What is it about them that appeals to you?
I don’t really have style icons that I follow. I like looking at red carpet photos as much as anyone, but I can’t really apply that style to my wardrobe. But I do remember I really liked the looks of the Gilmore Girls. Earlier I was drawn to the put together, but still young and fun, look of Rory, but I now realise that I am in fact closer in age to Lorelai. She is a bit boring, too perfect, but I like her look at work as a ground to start from. Both of them are always put together (Rory at least in later years) and it was fun to see everyday wear as well as the more fancy Friday night dinner. I like that they were not afraid to dress up and use fancy fabrics in their choices.

I’m skipping the next questions on finding words on styles I like but aren’t me, gathering plenty of words and skip straight to the last task of defining my core words. I must admit that remembering the Gilmore Girls as style icons really help me a lot since they look like I want to look. Really. Maybe a bit more modern, but I think I have plenty to learn from them. (Can you tell I miss them? Whatever happened to them? Did Lorelai and Luke end up together? Is Rory a big shot journalist? Who can tell?) Obviously I won’t copy them right off the bat, but take inspiration from them. Another one I’m inspired by but don’t know as well is Zooey Deschanel and I’m a frequent reader of What Would Zooey Deschanel Wear? I love that the site has regular wear from New Girl as well as red carpet.

Put together
This is a word I really want to live by. Both for work and playtime I want to look put together and polished. I’m not a fan of torn jeans, cut-offs (well, maybe for yard work) or things that just hang off. The last summers I’ve resorted to skirt/shorts and a plain tee or tank that doesn’t really fit. I don’t like that. I want to be happy with my look, regardless of if I’m at the office or at the playground.

Colourful
This doesn’t probably come as a surprise since I’ve been working on this previously. I want to wear more colours, it’s a challenge of finding colours that look good on me as well as daring to stand out.

Structure
For myself I like wearing structured things. Interesting lines and definitions. Flowy and loose, especially on top, is not for me. I do like an occassional maxi skirt or dress, but that is pretty much as flowy as I’ll ever go. I definitely want waist defintion otherwise I’ll look huge, but I also like shaping clothes with darts and interesting pleats. Fitted and structured are key.

Comfortable
Yeah, I still want to be comfortable. I don’t want to feel restricted. Right now I’m even considering ditching pencil skirts, even though I love the shape, since they are not practical for the life I live. Who doens’t want to be comfortable?

Feminine
I like dressing in a feminine way, with skirts, dresses and shaped. So I want to keep that up.

Once I did talk style with a co-worker. We talked about “European Fashion”, she had recently lived in the UK and said she did not care for the fashions there. It was flowy, loose, not fitted. French fashion on the other hand is structured, feminine, fitted, so you can say I want to be more French in my style. (If there is a country I love, it is France. The landscapes, the wine, the food… I dream away)

So, this exercise left me with the words put together, colourful, structure, comfortable and feminine. It’s where I’m aiming. Plus I want my clothes to show attitude, not necessarily a tough attitude, which usually is the first thing associated with the word, but they should get noticed, which I think they will if I stick to words above.

3 thoughts on “Wardrobe Architect: 5 Words of Me

  1. I love reading your thoughts about this. I’m planning on participating, but I don’t quite have the time right now.
    It’s funny that French style for you is structured and fitted. I think maybe it depends on the age group. I’ve noticed the teenagers and women in their 20s and early 30s seem to be pretty boho (well, it depends on the region and economic class, and etc. of the person, but generally speaking). But I think women in their 40s and 50s, etc. have the more structured, polished style that you describe. This is just what I’ve noticed where I live, of course, which is not Paris!
    Anyway, I say this not to disagree, but simply because I like the fitted, polished look too, but I don’t find a lot of inspiration on the street for it, at least not on women in my age group! So I feel strange sometimes because I don’t dress like most women my age…🙂

    • I would love to read your take on the Wardrobe Architect project, but I think you’re wise to wait until you have the time.

      Well, I haven’t visited France since 2011 so maybe things have changed. Or I were just drawn to the more mature stores (I liked Camaïeu). So maybe in France I’d be 40 years old. I’d be OK with that.

      • So far I’m participating in my head. I did pin one inspiration image today.🙂 I bet the street fashion in Paris is quite different too; I live in the (comparative) boonies.😉

Leave a Reply

