Wardrobe Architect: Hair and Beauty

image

For this week’s exercis of Colette’s Wardrobe Architect it’s all about hair and beauty. To build a complete style and look I believe hair and beauty is key. We were to answer a few questions about ourselves and our routines, so there’s no need to drag on:

  1. What hair style has been most flattering and comfortable for you? How did it make you feel about yourself? Did it invoke any of the words you came up with in our core style exercise?
    After cutting my hair fairly short earlier this year I came to the conclusion that I have a 2.5 year cycle of my hair length. I cut I short, play with it in various lengths and then decide to grow it long. After I’ve grown it long I question myself as to why I decided to grow it long (usually since I don’t have to go to the salon so often) and cut it off again.

The thing is, I do prefer shorter hair. It’s easier to style for me, as I always end up slinging my hair back in a ponytail when it’s long enough. You see, I have plenty of hair. It’s full and I also have a lot of hair. When it is long it doesn’t really lay down and I need products to keep it down, even though it’s perfectly straight. Plus I like the edge short hair gives me.

Confession: I have never, ever dyed my hair. It has gone lighter over the year, as a teenager my hair was very dark brown, to the point of being black without actually being black. Now it’s more of a dark brown. I have also lucked out and haven’t gotten any grey hair (yet?) so I don’t have the need to cover anything. For now I’m sticking with my real colour and play with lengths instead.

My core words were put together, colourful, feminine, structure and comfortable. (I’m thinking of adding “fun” to the mix, just to remember to not take it too seriously and just have fun with style). I think my short hair falls into those categories.

  1. How much makeup are you comfortable with? It could be no makeup, or a full face with contouring (and all that jazz I could never figure out). Or it could vary day to day..

I feel comfortable in no to a little makeup. I have no problem leaving the house without anything on, but for work I usually put on eyeliner, mascara and eye shadow. For my lips I go with a coloured chap stick for most parts, but I could go for a little gloss if I want to branch out. However, I think makeup is fun and I would like to take a lesson in it, learning what colours I should use and what products to make it a bit better.

  1. How does your makeup and hair reflect your personal style? What do you feel they say about you and your aesthetics?
    Keeping with the fun I think my hair can be played with. Or styled more business if I need to. I like to play with spikes and shapes but also hair accessories.
  2. How much product do you want to own? Do you like collecting products, or would you rather just have a few essentials? How much bathroom clutter are you ok with?
    I want to own a few products, the essentials. I have no need or desire to stock my shelves with things.
  3. What requirements do you have for the products you buy? Do you stick with all natural products? Are there ingredients you avoid?
    Too little at the moment, but then again I’m committing the horrible crime of keeping products until they are gone or too messed up to use them. I definitely want to get more high quality products that haven’t been animal tested and are natural. I don’t want parabens in lotions, otherwise I must confess that my knowledge is poor. Some research before I buy more is in order.
  4. What colors feel best near your face? How do they relate to the color palette you created?
    I usually go for earth tones; warm brown, purple and pink depending on the occasion and what I wear. Which is odd since I don’t go for earth tones on my clothing, I like my clothes more bright. But the colours, or nuances of them ,are in my palette and match my skin tone and eyes (or so I think, see above about a lesson in makeup).
  5. What colors never look right near your face? What colors have you tried and given up on before?
    I don’t want too bright colours on my face, for every day I don’t want makeup to be a focal point. For special occasions I don’t want to look like I’ve been trying too hard.
  6. How much time do you realistically want to spend getting ready in the morning?
    I don’t spend a lot of time getting ready and it wouldn’t bother me if I had to do a bit more. I find it more annoying having to wash my makeup off at night or before workouts. That’s what I love about short hair, I just comb it down and I have a style, which I can amp up if I’m in the mood.
  7. What types of scents do you gravitate towards? Do you wear perfume? Other scented products? What do you feel the scents you like communicate about your personality?
    I don’t think I even own a perfume. I wear a scented deodorant (and I feel that the one I currently have is too strong in smell). That’s it. I’m not much for scenting myself and I don’t care for it too much in others either. A natural, neutral smell is the best.

The picture is me on my wedding day. In a hairstyle I like and with great makeup, my sister did it. Plus happiness as an accessory.

2 thoughts on “Wardrobe Architect: Hair and Beauty

    • Thanks! I just felt relief when my hair was chopped off, people thought I was a bit crazy for cutting it off right before my wedding instead of keeping it long and doing a fancy updo. But this is more me!

Leave a Reply

