Me-Made-May Week 3

Me-Made-May day 12Me-Made-May day 12

Lessons Learnt skirt, Metal Cardigan, RTW t-shirt (Vero Moda) and belt (Target)

This is the first time I’ve worn this cardigan since I made it (BTW, check out that belly in the creation-post. Yikes!) When I made the garment I was hesitant about the fact that it has no closure and I thought about adding a hook and eye. Unfortunately that wouldn’t work as well without that big belly so it has just been left in my wardrobe for the past year. Now during Me-Made-May, when I really want to put my wardrobe to the test I figured it was about time I actually wore it. I figured I’d do a wrap under a wide belt as styling.

The verdict? I’m unsure. I love the fact that the words spell out excellent music (Hard, Rock and Metal), but the fit is weird. I think the magazine used a heavier knit. The sleeves are a bit too big and feel a bit pyjama and the ruffles (which BTW are uneven) hit me in a very bad spot. Plus I noticed today that the print varies in colour, going from green on my left to teal on my right. As fun as the fabric is I think this cardigan is not for me. Hopefully I can make this fabric up for something else, but it’s hard since it’s cut in panels. Maybe something for the kids? I’m not quite ready to let it go, but maybe it’ll be for the best. I don’t feel completely confident in this outfit.

I don’t intend to assess my RTW as much as me-mades this month, but two comments regarding today’s RTW: The belt is tight and I had to take it off in the afternoon (making the cardigan look even sloppier). I do like the lace detail around the t-shirt’s neckline, those I the kind of details I want to be working on in my clothing.

Me-Made-May day 13

Me-Made-May day 13

The Turnaround Dress (unblogged), RTW cardigan (H&M), belt (thrifted)

This dress is my turning point. It is not modern or trendy but it is fun and unusual. Belting over a cardigan is not something I’ve done before, but in this outfit it works. A keeper! Inspired by all other lovely Me-Made-Mayers I ventured out and bought some reddish lip gloss. I think I might like som elip colour!

Me-Made-May day 14

Me-Made-May day 14

Moo Moo Tunic (unblogged), 3-Year Pants (unblogged)

This outfits makes me torn. On one hand I’m not so sure that the tunic is a flattering shape on me, on the other hand I really like the colour and I felt good in it. The pants are a bit ill-fitting, but that is hidden due to the fact that the fabric has a bit of stretch in it. However, I rarely wear them outside of the Me-Made months. I think these are keepers – for now. If I don’t wear them more, off they go.

Me-Made-May day 15

Me-Made-May day 15

Rule Britannia dress. RTW cardigan (Camaïeu)

We had a crisis drill at work, with planned work hours from 7 to 18. I decided to go for comfort. I know I have worn the dress before this month, but in a different outfit (different cardigan, a loophole which I accept). However, after working up a steam initially, the cardigan went off. Love this dress! Comfortable, fun, colourful, structured and feminine, all of my core words in one dress. Plus the right colours as well!

Me-Made-May day 16

Me-Made-May day 16

Lessons Learnt Skirt, RTW top (thrifted) and cardigan (Camaïeu)

This skirt is a real staple piece, even though it’s a bit too bog in the waist. Love the pockets, the shape and the colour is perfect for matching. I have a denim version of this skirt planned for fall, inspired by Zooey Deschanel (I know that the skirt in the link is a dead ringer for Colette’s Ginger skirt, but I’m using what I have). The top is thrifted and even though I’d like it just a few cm longer I still like it. Great colours, easy to wear and just enough prints, I like them regular and small.

Me-Made-May day 17 and 18

Me-Made-May day 17

Painted Aqua dress

This dress is super comfortable and so easy to wear. It was perfect for the day planned taking care of children (my MIL and I took care of my children as well as their two cousins). You gotta love a well-fitting jersey dress.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

