Me-Made-May Week 4

Me-Made-May day 19

Me-Made-May day 19

Starry Organic Alma, Exposed Zipper Skirt, RTW cardigan (Camaïeu)

Love the blouse! There’s not much more to say. I like the skirt, it’s a basic shape with a fun pop of colour. However the sewing is pretty bad and all I can think of when wearing the skirt is if anyone else notices them. Probably not right, I mean it’s practically only sewists who care about stripe matching right? The verdict for this skirt is that it will be kept in my wardrobe, until I can replace it. Seeing how the skirt is totally wearable, it’s not unflattering or too worn, I have other things to prioritise before replacing this skirt. So a keeper it is! I have two of this cardigan (one grey, one navy) and I love wearing them. Cardigans like these should definitely be on my “to buy”-list even if I do want to sew toppers as well.

Me-Made-May day 20

Me-Made-May day 20

Lessons Learnt Skirt, Green Floral Blouse

Skirt – no comments needed. The blouse is awkward, it’s the blouse from the Burdastyle Sewing Handbook. In theory I like it and I could like it on me as well, just not this version. What is awkward? Let me count the ways. The sleeves hit at a bad place, especially since they have cuffs. The cuffs hit me right where I want to bend my arm, pushing the cuffs up, or restraining me at first. The blouse is made before 2014, aka. the year of the Full Bust Adjustment, meaning I never did an FBA and my ample bosom makes the elastic go up, hitting me above my natural waist – not pretty. Plus the colour is a bit too pale on me, a brighter green would have been better. I could see myself making another version of this blouse, granted I fix the errors above, but I can’t really place it at the top of my sewing list.

 

Me-Made-May day 21

Me-Made-May day 21

Midnight Sun Shirt, Midnight Sun Skirt, RTW cardigan (Target)

Symbolic dressing today. I’ll explain in day 22’s description. I haven’t worn this combo before, the shirt and the skirt as a dress. I struggled with an FBA in the making of the shirt and the fit is not spot on, however it looks much better when belted. I like the slight A-line shape of the skirt, it has six gores to shape it. These will stay!

Me-Made-May day 22

Me-Made-May day 22

Striped Organic Alma, Thrifted skirt (Sunshine 365)

Premiere wearing of my Striped Organic Alma, with matching belt. The symbolism continues. You see, last night I took my green belt in judo. Before that it was orange, but since I don’t have an orange belt the yellow belt yesterday stood in. Today I wear my green belt. With pride. Both in my judo accomplishment and due to the fact I really like this blouse, such a cool fabric and great fit! The skirt is thrifted but I love it, the shape is great and I love how it swooshes as I walk. I keep wishing for the Hollyburn skirt in various giveaways, maybe I should just relent and buy it already.

Me-Made-May day 23

Me-Made-May day 23

Pretty in Pink dress

I really like the shape and the square neckline of this dress. However, it’s not that the fit is too bad, it just sits badly. The edge of my bra is on display, the sleeves feel a bit dated and I’m not 100% sure about the colour. It was a tough call, but as I kept tugging on the dress all day to try and at least not show my bra I think it’s time to let go. The negatives, sadly, outweighs the positive. The same goes for its sister blouses.

Me-Made-May day 24

I wore a thrifted dress as I didn’t meet anyone today. Very comfortable dress, I need more casual dresses in my wardrobe.

Me-Made-May day 25

Picture is old, but I looked like this. With different hair. And a hat. The shoes were the same, but are unseen.

Lime Truffle Dress.

Busy day today. Out running before eight, brunch at my sister’s, last gymnastics class for kiddo and voting for European parliament. When I first made the Lime Truffle Dress, it was my first Colette Pattern. I thought this dress fit well, since Colette drafts for a C cup, whereas most others draft for a B cup it fit me better than anything else I’d made. But since discovering the FBA (why, oh why did it take me so long!?) I realised that this dress doesn’t fit that well. I kept pulling it all day. It won’t go right away because the fabric makes me happy and if this dress is to be replaced I need to find a fabric that makes me equally happy. Also I wore a hat. Hats are great for blocking the sun without hiding your face behind sunglasses. More hats for the people!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Me-Made-May Week 4

Leave a Reply

