Sew For A Change – June

The food month is coming to an end. To be honest, I haven’t dedicated myself too much in the star challenge this month for a lack of time. Much to do at work, we’ve had plans every weekend (been away, had parties or both!) which we have had since Easter. Plus my husband is on parental leave and does most of the cooking, I can’t make him cook something he doesn’t want to (firm believer in meat). Excuses, excuses, excuses.

Complete the following:

 

  1. Start by doing a food inventory. Get rid of (preferably through composting) any food that is not fit for eating any longer. Now, try to plan your dinners to use the food you have, before it goes bad.
    If I may say so myself, we are pretty good at using things in our freezer. We don’t overbuy and check what we have before making our shopping list for the week. Our freezer could use some cleansing and it should be done soon in my opinion. Maybe I should do it as a vacation project. I need the kids to be occupied somehow (TV or napping is sufficient) and it should preferably be done in connection to garbage pickup day. Let’s get planning!
  2. Choose one week this month to be a completely vegetarian week. For the rest of the weeks you shall eat vego at least twice/week.
    As I wrote above my husband is a firm believer in meat (I once suggested having a vegetarian day, his response was that he could fry up some bacon on the side). Plus we’ve been so busy in June that making new dishes have not been a priority at all. But I have gathered recipes and will, in July, start with a vegetarian day a week. Baby steps.
  3. Look into what is in season and choose vegetables and fruits accordingly. First choice is organic, second choice is local produce.
    We’re not very good with vegetables (that’s been made obvious) and fruit. I’m allergic to raw stone fruits (apples, pears, peaches etc.) so I pretty much just eat banana. We try to buy locally produced if we can, they have a lot of locally produced vegetables at our store so whenever we can, we get it.
  4. When it comes to the following 5, we ask you to buy organic or not at all: coffee, potatoes, grapes, bananas and cheese.
    Coffee, grapes (including raisins and wine) and bananas are check! We haven’t found eco-potatoes and unfortunately the most organic, local-produced cannot be harvested yet. I don’t eat a lot of cheese, but I’ve eaten some and it wasn’t organic.
  5. For meat we want to limit the use of beef to once per week (except for the vego week, obviously, where it is zero).
    Again, I haven’t had the energy to work this out. It’s quite possible that I could’ve passed this because we haven’t eaten much beef, but I honestly don’t know.
  6. Eat rice max once a week, unless you live in a part of the world where it is produced.
    Same answer. I honestly don’t know.

We’re not quite there yet, but we are coming up on the halfway point and it’s usually when I lose momentum. Plus I’ve been thinking a lot about a post I read on Creating in the Gap about sewing as a hobby. It is my hobby why should I impose a bunch of rules on it? I don’t over-buy, I keep clothes for a long time, I donate what can be donated. My kids wear plenty of hand-me-downs, we fill the washer, we buy eco-friendly products, I buy clothes second-hand. Why should I have to abstain from buying a pretty fabric for a maxi Anna dress just because I needed new bras after ten months of breast-feeding? Or a winter coat? I have underwear you can practically see through since they are so worn. My winter jacket was bought in 2006, my spring jacket in 2008, my clothes are from the 1990s. I keep things and wear them. We don’t throw away food instead we make lunch boxes, we recycle. I could probably do more, but I don’t see why I should sacrifice my hobby, something that makes me feel good, in order to clear my conscience.

image

Great fabric, length and lace. The joy!

Plenty of thoughts to deal with.

This month I bought myself 4 new bras. The joys of a well-fitting bra! They were in polyamide so 3 points each and 12 in total. I also bought a skirt (in lovely fabric, see blurry cell phone pic above), a blouse and a cardigan, but they were all second-hand so free of charge!

With 12 points spent and 0 gained it leaves my total on 59 points.

One thought on “Sew For A Change – June

  1. Haha, my husband is exactly the same way when it comes to meat. He always says that any meal without it is only a snack!

    And my personal opinion is that, since you’re trying to be conscious of your consumer choices, and get good use out of what you have, there’s no reason to feel guilty about occasional fabric purchases. After all, creativity is good for a person, too!

Leave a Reply

