Blog hoppin’ or Ramblings on Ramblings

I’m pretty sure most people have noted the blog hop on writing going around. I was nominated by Becky of Sew and So, someone I’ve followed since 2010 when we were both trying to find our styles.

* Why do I write?

I’ve had my blog for ages, since 2005 -ish. Back then it was used as ventilation, regarding uni graduation, unemployment and getting my first job. Then I slowly got into sewing my own clothes, back in 2006 and I started blogging about that. I found Burdastyle in 2007 and after that sewing started playing a larger role in my life and a larger part of this blog. I’ve deleted most of the private posts from my early days. Nowadays it has become my documentation for my achievements in sewing and style as well as a way to reach out and meet other people. Writing is definitely important to me, I want to document in written words. I keep a daily journal and I have penpals with whom I speak mainly in written words. It’s easier for me to put my feelings and thoughts into writing rather than speaking.

One of my many journals...

One of my many journals…

* What am I working on?

Writing-wise I am working on finding my own voice. I have fallen into the trap of how I should write and present my creations, copying others, letting myself get lost rather than writing with my own words. I’m hoping to add more personality to my posts, while still keeping them informative. Also, I wish to add more musings and discussion topics to hopefully get a bit a discussion in my comments.

Sewing-wise I am sticking to my fall plan. I had a detour last week when I made the kids matching t-shirts, I couldn’t resist, now I’m back on track and am working on my teal Mortmain dress.

* How does it differ from others of its genre?

I don’t think I have a very unique blog, to be honest. I’m not creative enough to come up with on crafts and I don’t have enough technical skills to do tutorials, plus I don’t feel like spending that time. I hope to provide pattern reviews, thoughts on style and musings and discussions regarding sewing, style and fashion, all from my perspective. I like to think that my work is business casual so that’s my hole to fill. The PC thing to say was that I write solely for myself, that it’s my own documentation, but I hope that someone out there likes reading my thoughts, find some answers or gain a new perspective.

* How does my writing process work?

When I’m working on a project I think about the things that make this project unique, did I change anything and why, did I do any stupid mistakes, how do I feel about the project. All of those impressions gets into the post. When I write I just start to write with a specific topic in mind. Most times I stay on topic, sometimes I inadvertently wander off to a whole new topic. I just let the words flow, so after my first write-through I need to go back and edit. Usually I remove a bunch of rambling and make sure that all the information I want to provide is there. Sometimes I add personal anecdotes to accompany the post and that’s one of the things I’m working on to make my blog more personal.

Onto nominations! I know that some people (Becky included) e-mailed their nominees beforehand, but since I couldn’t find any e-mail addresses for my choices, they just have to find out the surprise way. I hope your are up for the task, ladies! (Otherwise, feel free not to, if it’s not fun than don’t it). My nominations are Aleksandra and Donna. Aleksandra makes a lot of fun, wearable clothes and always convey such happiness in her posts, I wouldn’t mind stealing a few of her pieces for my wardrobe (not that they’d fit me or anything), especially this Oscar de la Renta dress. That fabric!). Donna is an American living in France, which just happens to be one of my favourite countries to visit, the food, the wine, the scenery! Her creation posts are always inspiring as she pays great attention to details and sews with fun fabric. I hope you are up for the challenge ladies!

6 thoughts on “Blog hoppin’ or Ramblings on Ramblings

  1. Thanks for the nomination and I definitely accept! I always enjoy reading your blog; it’s sewing for real life and I think your personality comes through wonderfully.😉

  2. Sorry it took me so long to comment! Slow hotel wifi. I didn’t realize you’d been blogging here for as long as you had! And I also find it much easier to express myself in writing. The “bunch of rambling” removal comment made me laugh, because I tend to do the same thing.

Leave a Reply

