Creation: Simplicity 4032 – Sweatshirt Blazer

I really feel I am coming into my own in my sewing. This project was a gamble and I felt it could either way, success or complete disaster. It makes me very happy to report that it’s a success.   The story of this blazer began in the summer. The husband and I had ditched the kids at the in-laws for some shopping in their town. Mainly grocery shopping, but we also took a walk in the city. There’s a lovely boutique which I like to visit for inspiration and an occasional purchase. I tried on a blazer in sweatshirt fabric, which I quite fancied but the husband weren’t impressed with the raw edges of the collar lapels. It was quite pricey and it didn’t feel 100% so I left it behind, but I did like the idea of a sweatshirt blazer. I haven’t been much of a blazer person in my days and a sweatshirt blazer seemed like a nice way to ease myself into it. Sweatshirt Blazer (8)   I searched the web for a suitable pattern and in the end settled for Simplicity 4032. It’s made for fleece fabrics, but several other fabrics can work, including sweatshirt fabrics. The bodice is princess seamed and there’s a variety of collars and flounces to make a jacket or vest. A lot of options in fact and I can see myself making up a few of the other versions. This time I made view D as it was the most close to the blazer style I envisioned. Sweatshirt Blazer (11) According to the measurements I was to cut a size 16. Looking at the finished garment measurements this jacket had an ease of 15 cm (6”). That’s a whole lot of ease! So I cut according to finished measurements, in my case I cut a size 12 with no size alterations. It’s still a bit too shapeless in the back, but it looks good. I don’t even want to imagine a size 16 on me, I wonder if I even could get it right after it’s been cut. The sleeves are a bit too long and the elbow dart hits too low on me. Ah, those short arms of mine! If I make this again I will shorten the sleeve a bit, perhaps also take it in and make it sleeker. Sweatshirt Blazer (7) The instructions tells you to just layer the two pieces for the collar/flounce and leave them raw. As the rawness was what I didn’t really liked from the beginning so I stitched the two pieces together and folded to get a more finished look. Along the way the iron was my best friend, the sweatshirt fabric really benefited from a good press in achieving a professional look. Sweatshirt Blazer (14) Verdict? I love this jacket! Lounge wear for work at its best. There are a few things I could’ve have done better, but all in all I’m pretty pleased with my first blazer. It may sound a bit stupid, but I am glad I went with my instinct and cut a smaller size than recommended as it ended up great in size, not too much ease. I makes me feel more confident in my abilities and is a testament that I have learnt a lot this year in fitting. Two thumbs up! Paired with my Helena in corduroy (unblogged at the moment), the blazer was in my fall plan and the skirt was added later. I’ve brought the look together by matching the buttons since my fall plan is dominated by grey and aubergine. I’m getting the hang of this styling thing! Fabric: Grey sweatshirt fabric (isoli) Stoff och Stil Pattern: Simplicity 4032, view D Notions: Buttons, interfacing Techniques used: Buttons and buttonholes, collar and flounce, concave/convex seaming, princess seams. How do you draw inspiration from RTW? What is your secret for getting away with lounge wear at work?

2 thoughts on “Creation: Simplicity 4032 – Sweatshirt Blazer

Leave a Reply

