Creation: Deer & Doe Belladone, Wearable Muslin

Läs längst ner för text på svenska

The theme of the Monthly Stitch for August is “two”, since its TMS’ 2nd birthday! I have something a little extra planned for that and since it’s a little extra I wanted to take my time and make it perfect. Which brings me to this creation; the wearable muslin.

Belladone (23)

 

Let me tell you, this dress was a real PIA to sew – to no fault of the pattern at all. I made some bad decisions along the way plus the fitting was extensive. But I just hate on giving up on a project, especially when I think the end product can be really cute. Plus, when I had made it as far as zipper and hem left there was no way I was giving up.

Belladone (1)

 

The pattern is Deer & Doe’s Belladone dress which has already made several rounds in sewing blogs with its popular back cut up and the greatly shaped skirt. I like that it is printed on sturdy paper for easy tracing (team trace FTW!) and subsequent storage. The instructions are quite brief, but I like them. I’d rather have brief instructions and refer to reference book than long instructions. There are pictures to help to. What I don’t like about the instructions was that English automatically meant imperial measurements. Since it was a pattern drafted in metric, couldn’t we just once get the metric measurements? So I had both sets of instructions – English and French – up, since the French had the metric.

After two muslins of the front bodice and three of the back I finally got a fit that could go on the wearable muslin. There are still some things I’d change, though. All in all the following was made: I cut a size 40, made a 3 cm FBA while lowering the bust darts 2 cm, lengthened the bodice 5 cm, took of a wedge of 6 cm (per side) in the diagonal cut of the lower back bodice and made the overlap in the neck wider. Whew!

Belladone (24)

I’m quite happy with the fit (and I should be, it took me five muslins to get here)

What did me in was my decision to face the waistband. I was worried that it would distort so I added an interfaced self-facing. And it all went downhill from there. There was no problem adding the facing per say, but the added bulk was. I inserted the zipper and it wouldn’t go up due to the bulkiness. I had to cut back the facing so it wouldn’t be caught in the zipper seam and finish it on spot since the fabric was prone to fraying. Also I had sewed something crocked and the waistband didn’t align along the zipper, since I’d rather have a sharp V at the top. I think I took out and re-sewed the zipper at least 5 times, maybe more.

Belladone (16)

Wrinkles come from wearing the dress all day

 

The fabric is a cotton pique from Stoff och Stil. I like the colour and that it is a solid with an interesting texture. I found some black bias tape in my stash and used that as binding. I had meant to use contrast on the armholes and neckline as well, but sewed it on in the wrong way and didn’t bother changing it.

The pattern was great to work with and I see myself using it again, both as it, but perhaps also as a skirt or omit the back overlap and just do the deep v-back (while widening the shoulders of the back bodice). I like the shape of the skirt, the pockets, the hem facing and, of course, the back cutout. For the next time I will change a few things, obviously. I probably won’t face the waistband (and forever dread distorting) and I will sew the neckline last to know how much overlap I need. I had a pretty good fit in my muslin, but now it gapes, so I’ll save it for last next time. I’ll also pay more attention to hopefully get a matched up waistband. Luckily, since this is a solid, I think I can get away with the un-matching waistband and hide it behind a belt, but the neck gape bothers me, I’ll might try and fix that.

Belladone (17)

Still, in the end, I’m happy with my dress

 

In the end, a cute dress, and it shows my knees (apparently my husband thinks I should wear this length more often). I’m really glad I did this wearable muslin, had this been with my good fabric, which also requires print matching, it would have ended in a disaster. Now I’m prepared to handle my good fabric, wish me luck!

Månadens tema i The Monthly Stitch-gruppen är “två” eftersom gruppen fyller 2 år i augusti. Jag har något speciellt planerat för detta tillfälle och eftersom det är lite speciellt ville jag gör ett välarbetat plagg, vilket är vad som för mig till denna kreation; den användbara toilen.

Jag kan direkt säga att denna klänning var hemsk att sy – och det var inte mönstrets fel i det minsta. Jag tog några dåliga beslut och jag fick jobba mycket på passformen av klänningen. Men, jag hatar att ge upp ett projekt, speciellt när jag tror att jag verkligen kan gilla slutprodukten. Dessutom, när jag bara hade blixtlåset och fållen kvar så skulle jag i mål, inte en chans att jag ger upp så nära mållinjen.

Mönstret är Belladone från Deer &Doe, ett mönster som länge har snurrat runt på sömnadsbloggar med sin populära rygg och snyggt formade kjol. Jag gillar att pappret är ordentligt eftersom jag alltid ritar av mönstret på eget papper. Instruktionerna är kortfattade, men jag gillar dem. Jag har hellre korta instruktioner och en referensbok tillhanda än långdragna instruktioner, dessutom finns en del bilder som visar de viktiga momenten. Vad jag inte gillar i instruktionerna är att engelska automatiskt innebär brittiska måttenheter. Eftersom mönstret faktiskt är ritat i SI-enheter kan vi inte för en gångs skulle få ett mönster på engelska med enheter i meter? Istället använde jag båda uppsättningarna av instruktioner – franska och engelska – eftersom den franska hade SI-enheter.

Efter två toiler av livet fram och tre av livet bak fick jag äntligen en passform som jag tog vidare till det användbara provplagget. Det finns fortfarande lite att ändra dock. Slutligen gjorde jag följande: Jag började med storlek 40, gjorde 3 cm FBA samtidigt som jag sänkte inprovningarna två cm och förlängde livet med 5 cm. Ur livet back tog jag bort 6 cm (per sida) i v-ringningen och överlappade bitarna i nacken mer. Pust!

Det som gjorde plagget svårsytt var mitt beslut att fodra linningen. Jag oroade mig att tyget skulle vrida sig ur form, så jag lade till ett foder med mellanlägg. Och sen gick det utför. Att lägga till fodringen var inget problem i sig, men volymen som lades till i sömmarna var. Jag sydde i mitt osynliga blixtlås och jag kunde inte dra det förbi linningen, det var för mycket tyg där. Jag fick klippa tillbaks fodringen och försöka sicksacka det på plats eftersom tygerna gärna repade upp sig. Dessutom hade något blivit snett i processen så linningen är inte helt rak där bak, jag satsade på ett bra V i ringningen istället. Totalt tror jag att jag sydde och tog ut blixtlåset minst 5 gånger, kanske fler.

Tyget är bomullspiké från Stoff och stil. Jag gillar färgen och att det är ett enfärgat tyg men med lite struktur. Jag hitta svart snedslå i mina gömmor och använde det som infodring. Först hade jag tänkt att göra även armhålen och ringningen med kontrast, men jag sydde på det fel och orkade inte ändra det.

Mönstret var bra att arbeta med och jag kan se mig använda det igen, både som det är, men kanske också bara kjolen, eller ta bort den övre delen på livet back och bara göra den djupa v-ringningen. Jag gillar formen på kjolen, fickorna, fållinfodringen och, givetvis, den öppna ryggen. Nästa gång kommer jag att ändra på en del saker, naturligtvis kommer jag inte att fodra linningen (och för alltid befara att den drar sig) och jag kommer att sy halsringningen sist för att anpassa hur mycket överlappning som behövs. Detta plagg passar rätt bra, men halsringen gapar lite så det är bara att spara till sist, en enkel ändring. Jag ska också vara mer noggrann så att linningen blir rak där bak. Som tur är, eftersom detta är ett enfärgat tyg, kan jag komma undan med det och gömma det bakom ett skärp, men den glipande halsen stör mig, får se om jag gör något åt det.

Slutligen så blev det en härlig klänningen och den visar mina knän (uppenbarligen tycker min man att jag ska bära lite kortare kjolar mer ofta). Jag är verkligen nöjd med beslutet att göra ett helt provplagg, hade detta varit i mitt fina tyg, som dessutom kräver mönsterpassning, skulle det ha slutat i katastrof. Nu känner jag mig redo att tackla det fina tyget, önska mig lycka till!

8 thoughts on “Creation: Deer & Doe Belladone, Wearable Muslin

  1. Beautiful muslin! All the work you put in has paid off this dress fits and looks fabulous on you💃. And i love how you style it with a skinny belt.

  2. Pingback: Creation: Grey Skies Dress | By Eitchy

  3. Pingback: My Making a Poodle Skirt | The Monthly Stitch

Leave a Reply

