Fall Planning 2015

I do like planning. Even if I don’t end up sewing everything I plan or deviate at times, it’s good to have something to fall back on. My plan for this fall is quite diverse, but I am hoping it can be the start of a FW wardrobe.

 

Skinny pants – Colette Clover

I made a pair of Colette Clovers in June and they fit pretty well straight out of the envelope. The fabric I’m using is a Bordeaux stretch twill.

Will go with: Slightly longer shirts and blouses, worn untucked, with cardigan over.

 

Shirt – Deer and Doe’s Bruyère

Red Chambrey

Red Chambrey

As I was ordering the Belladone dress, I couldn’t resist also getting the Bruyère shirt, especially since I already had some red Chambery in my stash for it. Unfortunately it might not be enough to make the sleeved version, but I believe I can make it work for fall even if sleeveless.

Will go with: Skinny bottoms such as pants (like a pair of bordeaux Clovers) or pencil skirts.

 

Dress – Embossed Scuba dress

Can I get away with this?

Can I get away with this?

I recently joined Instagram (ETA Sep 11: after a month I realised that Instagram was not a medium for me, so I am no longer on there. It might change in the future, but right now it wasn’t for me) and played along in the #sewphotohop organised by Rachel of House of Pinheiro. One task was to show our boldest fabric. For me it is this greyish embossed scuba knit. I want to make a dress from it, thinking along the lines of t-shirt top and half circle skirt (if I have enough fabric). I hope it can be a wearable everyday dress.

Will go with: Nothing, which is kind of the point of the dress

Jacket – Black and purple jacquard jacket

A jacket to be

A jacket to be

As I do want to progress in my sewing I decided that this fall I will sew myself a jacket. The pattern is the cover look from Burda Easy FW2014, basically the cover look. I will sew it in a wool blend jacquard and line it in a purple satin lining (there is purple behind the circles of the fabric, so perfect match when I found the lining in the remnant bin). The pattern doesn’t call for lined sleeves, but maybe I will try and figure it out since I can’t wear all types of wool (nicer wool works, poor quality makes me itch*).

Will go with: Over skinny bottoms and t-shirts or shirts.

 

Mini skirt – Mary in stretch denim

Enough to make a decent mini skirt?

Enough to make a decent mini skirt?

I’ve been wanting a denim mini skirt for quite a while and maybe it’s time. I will use the Mary skirt from Jenny Hellström’s book Sy! Urban Collection. I’ve been told the skirt runs short, as in very,very short, so I will add as much length as the fabric allows me. Could be a hit or miss, but I do want to try the look. If I don’t try, I’ll never know.

Will go with: Pretty much anything on top. Great wardrobe basic, if it doesn’t end up too short.

Stretch twill for Clovers, purple twill for skirt (too juvenile?), a knit for sweater/skirt set and textured floral jersey

Stretch twill for Clovers, purple twill for skirt (too juvenile?), a knit for sweater/skirt set and textured floral jersey

I will stick with these five pieces as my first plan as things may get bumped up to the head of the queue. But it’s good to have a planned list where I know I have all the supplies at home and can just get started. Other things that could be of interest is a denim A-line skirt (but I wonder if 10oz denim is too heavy for clothing?), a purple skirt (where I ponder if the fabric I have is too juvenile), a top (I have this interesting floral textured jersey, that I would like to make a dress of, but I think there’s only enough for a top) and a sweater/skirt set. I do have a sweatshirt planned in my mind, but no fabric for it at the moment. I might also want to do some crafting with/for the kids. As you can see, I can keep busy with sewing this fall too. I wasn’t very impressed with the fall collection at my local fabric store, Stoff och Stil, but if I were to buy something it would be this burgundy jacquard and make myself a Mortmain dress. Not that I need more dresses….

 

Jag gillar att planera. Även om jag kanske inte kommer att sy allt på min plan eller om jag någon gång avviker gillar jag har något att falla tillbaks på. Min plan denna höst har spridda skurar, men jag hoppas att det kan bli en grund till en bra höst/vinter-garderob.

 

Smala byxor – Colette Clover

Jag sydde ett par Clover-byxor i juni och de passar rätt bra utan några ändringar. Denna gång ska jag sy i vinrött stretchtwill

Passar med: Något längre skjortor och blusar, inte nedstoppade, med koftor över.

 

Skjorta – Deer and Doe’s Bruyère

När jag beställde Belladone-klänningen kunde jag inte motstå att att även köpa Bruyère-skjortan, speciellt eftersom jag redan hade röd Chambéry till den i mina gömmor. Tyvärr är där nog inte tillräckligt för att göra den med ärmar, men jag tror att jag kan få den att funka till hösten ändå, även utan ärmar.

Passar med: Smala nederdelar såsom byxor och pennkjolar

 

Klänning – Scubaklänning

Jag har nyligen gått med i Instagram (Tillagt 11/9: Efter en månad med Instagram insåg jag att det mediet var inte för mig, så just nu finns jag inte där. Det kan ändra sig i framtiden, men just nu var det inte rätt) och deltog i #sewphotohop-utmaningen. En dagsuppgift var att visa sitt mest djärva tyg. I mitt förråd är det detta scuba-tyg från Stoff och Stil. Jag vill göra en klänning av det, tänker mig en t-shirt med en halvcirkelkjol, om tyget räcker. Jag hoppas att det kan bli en bra vardagsklänning, om än lite annorlunda.

Passar med: Inget, men det är lite syftet med denna klänning och detta tyg.

 

Kavaj – Svart/lila jacquardjacka

Jag vill lära mig nytt, så jag har bestämt att denna höst ska jag sy en kavaj. Jag har tänkt använda omslagskavajen från Burda Easy FW2014. Tyget är jacquard i ullblandning och den ska fodras med lila satin (det är lila bakom cirklarna i jacquardtyget så när jag hittade fodret i stuvlådan på Stoff och Stil var det en perfekt matchning). Mönstret har inte fodrade ärmar, men jag ska försöka fodra dem ändå eftersom jag inte kan bära alla sorters ull utan att det kliar.

Passar till: Smala nederdelar såsom byxor eller kjolar

 

Minikjol – Mary i stretchdenim

Jag har länge velat ha en minikjol i denim and nu är det kanske dags. Jag kommer att använda Mary från Jenny Hellströms Sy! Urban Collection. Jag har läst hos Sytokarna att kjolen är kort, riktigt, riktigt kort, så jag kommer att lägga till så mycket längd som tyget tillåter (jag har inte jättemycket). Detta kan gå hur som helst, men jag vill prova. Försöker jag inte får jag aldrig veta.

Passar till: I princip allt. Perfekt garderobsbas, om den inte blir för kort.

 

I denna plan håller jag mig till fem plagg, med nya saker kan komma att flyttas fram på listan. Jag gillar att ha en plan, med allt material hemma så när lusten faller på är det bara att välja ett projekt. Andra saker som är av intresse är en A-linjekjol i denim (men jag undrar om mitt 10oz denim är för tjockt för kläder), en lila kjol (är tyget för barnsligt?), en topp (jag har ett intressant blommigt jerseytyg med textur, som gärna skulle få bli en klänning, men jag tror att det bara räcker till en top) och ett set med kjol och tröja i det stickade tyget. Jag har också idéer om en sweatshirt, men inget tyg hemma. Jag vill också göra något med eller till barnen. Som synes, jag ska nog kunna fylla min sytid denna höst också. Jag var inte så imponerad av Stoff och Stils höstkollektion i år, men om jag skulle köpa något skulle det bli detta vinröda jacquardtyg och så skulle jag sy mig en Mortmain-klänning. Inte för att jag behöver fler klänningar…

4 thoughts on “Fall Planning 2015

  1. Thinking through how these pieces will fit in your wardrobe before seeing them is a great idea! You’d think that would be a no-brainer, but it’s not something I always consider. And that purple fabric doesn’t look too juvenile to nd as is. I think it would largely depend on what you pair it with.

    • I’m not quite at SWAP level to plan a seasonal wardrobe, so fitting what I want to sew into my wardrobe may be a first step. Perhaps pairing the purple skirt with a classic white shirt will make it more grownup. I do love the fabric.

    • Hej!
      När jag skrev inlägget hade jag precis startat Instagram-kontot, men jag kände att det inte riktigt var mitt medium och tog bort kontot igen. Får se om jag startar ett nytt konto i framtiden, men just nu var det inte för mig. Tyvärr.

Leave a Reply

