Creations: Sewaholic Alma Blouse and Burdastyle 10-2012-121 Skirt

Usually when finishing a project, I get straight to writing the blog post, then cramming to take pictures and then what? It has happened that I have blogged items saying what I liked about them and then they have, for one reason or another, ended up hanging unworn in my wardrobe. All the while I have told the world what a great new piece I have and how it goes with so much. One good thing about having a backlog to blog is too see how the pieces have, or have not, worked their way into my wardrobe.

Alma and pocket skirt (14)

The fabric for today’s skirt and blouse combination were bought as just that, a combination. I loved the blue pique fabric for a skirt, solid but with texture, and while at the store I did try to find a matching fabric for a blouse, but failed. Luckily, as I had had a matter of not-buyer’s remorse (ie. I had looked at a fabric and not bought it (FYI, it was this green gingham for my maxi Anna, which also was enough for my buttoned Alma)), I went back to the fabric store the next day and found this lovely white cotton printed with blue wild flowers. I thought it’d make an excellent blouse to pair with the light blue pique skirt.

Alma and pocket skirt (9)

 I like sewing skirts since are easy to sew and fit. Lately I have felt a bit stuck in my sewing, not learning new things, I decided to challenge myself a bit, using Burda 10-2012-121. This skirt features inseam pockets – in the front darts. They were not very difficult to sew, I just took it slowly and worked through them one step at the time. I didn’t have enough fabric to self-line them (I would have had I paid attention during cutting) so they are lined with some white cotton sheeting I had in my stash. When I showed my husband the skirt he even pointed out that the pockets looked like darts. Someone’s learning pattern construction!

Alma and pocket skirt (8)

I cut a size 40, but should have cut a 38, as I ended up taking in the side seams about 3 cm on each side. I need to get used to new measurements. I like the slight flare of the skirt, the pockets, although they could have been pressed back a little more, and the double darts in the back for shaping. Also, after wearing the skirt all day I recommend stabilising the pocket edges so they don’t fall down and look too much like a kangaroo’s pouch, something that’s been dividing sewing bloggers’ opinions on this skirt – I like it!

Alma and pocket skirt (2)

Close to kangaroo pouch

Of the floral fabric I had 1.8 metres so I planned to make two blouses. The first iteration was Allt om handarbete 05-2008-01, which I used for my Midnight Sun Top. I like that top, but the fit isn’t quite right. For this version I cut the same size, but lowered the Dior dart (I just learnt that term). In retrospect I should have done an FBA instead. The neckline stretched when I topstitched and I ended up with horrible gaping both front and back. I realized that I would never wear this top, so with my last metre of fabric I went for a sure thing – Sewaholic’s Alma.

I have made the Alma three times (Starry, Striped, Grey) and it’s a lovely pattern to work with. This time I cut a size 6, added 2” length and did a 3 cm FBA. It could have been a bit smaller, the FBA. I chose to do the top sleeveless and since I only had one metre to work with I had to add a CB seam, I also moved the zipper there. The zipper was first installed in the tank top, but harvested and used again. Without the sleeves I think this blouse is a great basic piece, easy to wear on its own and to layer under a cardigan.

Alma and pocket skirt (13)

I love the shape in the back

So how have they held up, one month in my wardrobe? I did bring both of them on vacation, hoping to get some location shots, but the weather sucked (Seriously, in late July we wrapped up in blankets) so the skirt didn’t see much outside of the suitcase. I did wear the top, under a cardigan and a jacket, and I’m not quite sure about the print, do I like it? Is it too home-made? Since the fit is a bit off I’m not 100% comfortable in it, with the doubts about the print. I thought I’d wear it to work, but it doesn’t read office to me, perhaps it can make a great leisure top.

Do you ever blog white lies, as in saying you like a piece when in reality you have doubts? Have you ever made something that never got worn?

Oftast när jag är klar med ett projekt skriver jag genast om det som ett blogginlägg, kämpar för att ta bilder och lägga upp dem så snart som möjligt, men sen då? Det har hänt att jag har lagt upp saker här, sagt att jag gillar dem, men sen har de, av en eller annan anledning, hängt oanvända i min garderob. Samtidigt har jag berättat för världen vilket bra plagg jag nu har och att den matchar så mycket. En bra sak med att lägga upp saker en tid efter färdigställande är att se hur plaggen har, eller inte har, arbetat sig in i min garderob.

Tyget i dagens kjol- och blusklädsel köptes som just en kombination. Jag gillade den blå pikén till en kjol (samma tyg som Belladone-klänningen, men annan färg), enfärgat men med textur, och när jag var i affären försökte jag hitta tyg till en passande blus men misslyckades. Som tur var ångrade jag ett tyg som jag inte hade köpt (Gingham till min Maxi Anna och Alma-linne (som syddes efter Alman i detta inlägg)) och dagen efter åkte jag tillbaks till Stoff och Stil och hittade även detta vita tyg, tryckt med blå vilda blommor, vilket jag tyckte passade mycket bra till en blus att para ihop den ljusblå pikékjolen med.

Jag gillar att sy kjolar, de är enkla att sy och att passa. Men på sistone har jag känt att jag har fastnat i min sömnad, att jag inte lär mig nya saker och framför allt inte vågar prova något nytt, så för att utmana mig valde jag kjolen Burda 10-2012-121. Kjolen har fickor i sömmen – i de främre inprovningarna. De var inte alltför svåra att sy, jag sydde långsamt och tog ett steg i taget. Eftersom jag slarvade vid tillklippningen hade jag inte tillräckligt med tyg till at fodra dem, så fodret är vit lakansväv. När jag visade maken kjolen påpekade han att fickorna såg ut som inprovningar. Han lär sig!

Jag sydde storlek 40, men jag borde ha sytt en 38, jag tog in varje sidsöm cirka 3 cm. Jag måste vänja mig vid nya mått. Jag gillar kjolens utställda form, fickorna, även om de kunde ha pressats ner lite mer, och de dubbla inprovningarna bak, de ger en snygg form. Efter att ha burit kjolen en hel dag skulle jag rekommendera att stabilisera fickkanterna så att de inte faller och ser ut som en kängurus ficka, något som har delat åsikterna om kjolen, men jag gillar dem!

Av blomstertyget hade jag 1,8 meter så jag planerade två blusar. Den första blev Allt om handarbete 05-2008-01, vilken jag använt en gång till min midnattssoltopp. Jag gillar toppen men passformen är inte helt bra. I denna version tog jag samma storlek men sänkte Dior-inprovningen (har jag precis lärt mig). Med facit i hand skulle jag ha gjort en FBA. Ringningen sträckte sig när jag kantstickade och den glipade hemskt mycket både fram och back. Jag insåg snabbt att denna topp skulle jag aldrig bära, så jag satsade på ett säkert kort med den sista metern tyg – Sewaholics Alma.

Jag har sytt Alma-blusen tre gånger (Stjärnmönstrad, randig, grå) och det är ett mycket trevligt mönster att arbeta med. Denna gång klippte jag storlek 6, lade till 5 cm längd och gjorde en 3 cm FBA, vilken kunde ha varit lite mindre. Jag valde att göra toppen ärmlös och eftersom jag bara hade en meter tyg att arbeta med lade jag till en söm mitt bak, jag flyttade också blixtlåset dit. Blixtlåset satt jag först i linnet, men eftersom jag visste att jag aldrig skulle använda den toppen tog jag ut det och använde igen. Utan ärmarna blir Alma en väldigt bra bastopp, lätt att bära själv eller med lager under en kofta.

Så, hur har plaggen klarat sin första månad i min garderob? Jag tog med dem båda på semestern, i hopp om att få bilder med annorlunda bakgrunder men vädret sög (allvarligt, det var juli och vi satt i stugan vi hade hyrt inlindade i filtar) so kjolen fick inte se mycket annat än resväskan. Jag bar toppen, men under en kofta och jacka. Jag är inte helt säker på mönstret, gillar jag det? Ser den för hemmagjord ut? Eftersom passformen inte är helt perfekt är jag inte 100% bekväm i den, med tvekan angående mönstret. Från början tänkte jag att jag skulle ha den till jobb, men den känns inte som om den passar på kontoret, kanske kan den bli en fritidstopp. Jag får se.

Lägger du någonsin upp vita lögner, säger att du gillar något fast du i verkligheten har tvivel? Vad har du gjort som aldrig blivit buret?

13 thoughts on “Creations: Sewaholic Alma Blouse and Burdastyle 10-2012-121 Skirt

    • Tack och tack! Det var mycket trevligt, vi var tre stycken som gärna vill träffas igen, så då är du välkommen. Får styra upp ett datum. Ditt namn nämdes faktiskt när jag sade att “en i Köpenhamn ville komma” och fick svaret “We the Sewing?”. Jag återkommer i frågan.

  1. You have mailed the fit on the Belcarra too! Love the whole outfit – it goes well together. I started blogging to catalog my makes and so I write exactly what I think. I dont post something straight off the machine. Normally I would have worn it for a couple of times before I blog it so it means its always been worn😃

    • Thanks! I now realise that it is a good strategy to see if things make their way into rotation. I used to be so eager to publish my new creations that I blog it right off the machine, I need to learn to take my time.

    • It is interesting to read about what didn’t go as expected, just to see what was learnt. Just reading about all the good things gets a little one-dimensional.

  2. It’s a nice outfit, and I’m glad you found a use for the floral fabric that you’re happy with. I think I’m generally pretty honest about my projects overall, and I am the type who will blog fails so I can remember what I learned from them.

    • Thanks Becky! I think the last part you wrote about learning from our failed projects is important, as well as admitting “this didn’t work out, for the next time I know X and Y” (yeah, I might have just had a project like that).

  3. I like to blog things that haven’t worked as well as things that have, but you are right that sometimes although you like something it only becomes apparent over time that something isn’t quite right with it! I felt like this about my Belcarra top – there is something slightly off on the fit and I’m not certain what it is but it bugs me when I wear it! I like the end of year review posts for this reason – its interesting to see which things work for people and which end up staying in the wardrobe!

    • Many times I find the finished creation posts so happy only to be surprised at the end of the year that someone did not wear it at all. I have a few garments which I tug all day and really I shouldn’t wear them because they make me feel uncomfortable. I should at least be honest with myself.

  4. Pingback: Handmade Holiday: Gargano, Italy | By Eitchy

  5. Pingback: 2015 Summary: Hits and Misses | By Eitchy

  6. Pingback: Me-Made-May 16: Week 2 – By Eitchy

Leave a Reply

