One Stitch at the Time

Recently I sewed a dress in three evenings, including all steps from tracing to hemming. It was a scuba knit, so no darts, finishing of seams or a lot of pressing were needed. If I were to convert to sewing knits, this means I could make myself a new garment each week (my sewing time is Monday, Wednesday and Sunday evenings, with the occasional weekend nap time sewing). I raced to finish my dress so I could wear it the upcoming weekend. It was fun to have a new dress (although I ended up not wearing it since it was too warm) but I didn’t like the feeling I got after completing it, like I had sewn the dress just to get a new dress, not to enjoy the process along the way.

I love creating. I love planning my wardrobe; choosing patterns and fabrics. I love wearing what I’ve made. Lately though, I felt driven by the desire to get a new garment, not for the feeling of sewing. After I finished the three evening dress I sat down with some embroidery, I felt I needed the change of pace. The embroidery process got me thinking. In sewing, since I do most of it by machine(s) it’s usually quick and the boring bits still fly by (darts, I’m looking at you). But with the embroidery, every stitch is sewn in the same manner, every stitch needs to be hand-sewn. There are no quick finishes, no shortcuts, it’s just every stitch, one at the time. And found myself needing it. I found myself thinking that if I can put this much effort into a cross-stich banner I should be able to put in more effort in my garment sewing. I should be driven by making beautiful clothes, inside and out. I’m in awe over the details Amanda puts into her garments and while I feel I should work with finishes on my garments, the urge to have a new garment sooner takes over, and I sew with the serger.

This past year I’ve made a conscious decision to not follow sewalongs or Me-Made-May, just for the sake of listening to my own voice. I still sew along with The Monthly stitch, but those challenges are pretty loose and easy to customize to my sewing. I dislike the fast fashion of the high street and I’m beginning to dislike the fast fashion of the sewing world and I’m tired of the throwaway culture of our society. I want to sew for my sake, I want to blog for my sake. I want to enjoy the process.

Sewing is my therapy, my creative outlet but also a chance to get garments that fit me and that are constructed with attention to detail. Not a contest to sew the most garments. So, I want to slow down. Feed the urge to sew beautiful garments instead of just adding a new garment to my wardrobe. Sew with a plan (I joined a Facebook group for this, so hopefully I’ll learn more). Sew other things, not just garments. Sew for my kids. Challenge myself, learn new skills. Slow down, one stitch at the time.

For more thoughts on the matter I have gathered some blog posts that have influenced me:

Are You Making for the Sake of Making – Crazy Gyspy Chronicles
Slow Fashion – Sew, Sew, Sew Your Boat
Say no to Fast Fashion – Docksjö
Homemade Style: Aster Button Up – Think Liz

I want to enjoy putting every stitch in

I want to enjoy putting every stitch in

Nyligen sydde jag en klänning på tre kvällar, alla steg från kalkering till fållning. Det var en klänning i scuba-tyg, därför inga insnitt, overlockade kanter eller mycket pressande. Om jag skulle konvertera till att sy mycket trikå skulle jag alltså kunna göra mig ett nytt plagg i veckan (min sytid är måndag, onsdag och söndag kvällar, ibland en stund på helgen när barnen vilar). Jag snabbade mig för att få en ny klänning att bära till helgen. Det var kul att ha en ny klänning (även om jag inte bar den då den var för varm), men jag gillade inte känslan jag fick efter att jag var klar, att jag hade sytt klänningen bara för att få en ny klänning, inte för att njuta av processen att sy en ny klänning.

Jag älskar att skapa. Jag älskar att planera min garderob; välja monster och tiger. Jag älskar att bära vad jag har sytt. Men på sistone känns det som jag har drivits av önskan att få nya plagg, inte för känslan av att sy. När jag var klar med min tre-kvällars-klänning satte jag mig ner med broderi, jag behövde omväxling. Broderiprocessen fick mig att fundera. När jag syr, eftersom jag gör det mesta med maskin(er), går det oftast fort och även de tråkiga delarna (insnitt, jag tittar på er!) flyger förbi. Men i broderi sys alla stygn på samma sätt, alla stygn handsys. Det finns inga snabba avslut eller genvägar, det är bara alla stygn, ett i taget. Jag behövde detta. Jag tänkte att om jag kan lägga så här mycket ansträngning i en korsstygnstavla borde jag kunna lägga mer ansträngning i mina plagg också. Jag borde drivas att att göra vackra plagg utifrån och in. Jag imponeras över detaljerna Amanda lägger i sina plagg och även om jag känner att jag borde göra finare sömavslut tar lusten att få ett nytt plagg så snabbt som möjligt över och jag syr allt med overlockern.

Detta år har jag gjort ett medvetet val att inte vara med i några syjuntor eller ens Me-Made-May, bara för att jag istället ska kunna lyssna på min egen röst. Jag syr fortfarande med The Monthly Stitch, men de utmaningarna är rätt öppna och lätta att anpassa till min sömnad. Jag ogillar fast fashion på shoppingcentren och jag börjar ogilla fast fashion i sömnadsvärlden och jag är trött på slit- och slängkulturen. Jag vill sy för min skull, jag vill blogga för min skull. Jag vill njuta av processerna

Sömnad är min terapi, mitt kreativa utlopp, men också en chans att få plagg som passer mig och som är konstruerade med uppmärksamhet på detaljer. Inte en tävling att sy flest plagg. Därför vill jag sakta ner. Mata lusten att sy vackra plagg istället för att bara lägga till nya plagg i garderoben. Sy med en plan (jag gick med i en Facebook-grupp för detta, så jag kan förhoppningsvis lära mig mer). Sy andra saker, inte bara klädesplagg. Sy till mina barn. Utmana mig själv, lära mig nya tekniker. Sakta ner, ett stygn i taget.

För andras tankar om sömnad och Fast Fashion har jag samlat några blogginlägg som inspirerat mig:

Are You Making for the Sake of Making – Crazy Gyspy Chronicles
Slow Fashion – Sew, Sew, Sew Your Boat
Say no to Fast Fashion – Docksjö
Homemade Style: Aster Button Up – Think Liz

 

 

4 thoughts on “One Stitch at the Time

  1. Great post! I love a bit of hand sewing for the same reason … Quilting is great for this too. You have to be slow and precise with your blocks and there’s no getting away for the stitch by stitch process of hand sewing a binding down to finish a quilt! Heaven!

    • Thanks! I really felt I need to slow myself down. I’m thinking of making a bag, which will need lining and other techniques I’m not used to, just to force myself to slow down, learn new thing and enjoy the process.

Leave a Reply

