SWAP – Winter 2015

So, I joined a Facebook group for Sewing with a Plan (aka SWAP) a few days ago, just in time to make the winter plan. The aim is to sew six garments per season and of course make a variety of garments in coordinating colours to mix and match. Some of the things on my previous FW plan will be carried over to this new plan, since it occurred earlier than anticipated. So, what am I making?

Skirt and jacket set
In the back of my head lies the dream of one day sewing a suit (I bought a magazine in February 2012 with the pattern I want for the jacket. Seriously.) So consider this my first small attempt. The skirt (of which I couldn’t find a line drawing) is from the upcoming Burda Easy, and I will sew one slit only. The magazine comes out on Dec 2 and the SWAP deadline is Dec 13, I’ll be crunched for time (especially since we are contemplating a trip for the first week of December). The jacket is Simplicity 4032, which I used for my (now way too big) sweatshirt blazer. This time I’m leaning towards view A or B, slightly more towards B. The fabric for these two pieces will be a navy knitted jacquard with some stretch.

Appliqué Sweatshirt
Totally inspired by Helena/Gray All Day, I decided to do my own version of her “Sew What?”-sweater. I will modify Simplicity 1539 to make a rather skinny sweatshirt and use some leftover faux silver leather to do the appliqué. I have a design idea for the appliqué, but I’m not quite sure I can execute it, in which case I’ll need to think of something else.

Long-sleeved t-shirt
I found this textured viscose jersey in the remnant bin and I will make a long-sleeved t-shirt of it. I think it’s busy enough own its own as it is to add too many design elements. And yeah I will modify Simplicity 1539 yet again. In addition to sewing with a plan I’m also trying to be resourceful with what I have.

Skinny pants
The Colette Clovers in Bordeaux stretch twill carries over from my previous plan – I need to get these done! Based on my previous pair, which I wore a lot during the summer, I will make them a bit smaller in the back, there was a lot of excess fabric below my bum.

Folded Yoke Blouse
Another piece that carries over from the previous plan as I wanted a dressier top option as well. Red Chambery and interesting design details so I’m hoping this will go with both the pants and the skirt. The pattern is number 122 from Burda 10-2012.

I’m already seeing a few outfits form and if I throw in my denim mini skirt (which I still love and wear to death (although it needs to be taken in)), even more options! It’s a whole new way of thinking for me and I find myself already thinking about what I shall put on my spring plan. I must stop that! The whole point of the plan is to slow down and focus on the current plan.

Helenas 2015-vinterplan

Jag gick med i Facebook-gruppen Sy graderoben – med en plan precis i tid för att presentera vinterplanen. Målet är att sy sex plagg per säsong och givetvis sy olika plagg i matchande färg och form för att lätt kunna matcha de olika plaggen. Några saker från min förra HV-plan hoppar hit istället eftersom vintersömnaden börjar redan nu. Vad ska jag sy då?

Set med kjol och jacka
Någonstans i bakhuvudet ligger drömmen om att en dag sy en kostym (redan i februari 2012 köpte jag mönster till kavajen. Jag skojar inte.) Detta är mitt första försök. Kjolen (av vilken jag inte hittade teknisk ritning)är från den kommande Burda Easy och jag kommer att sy den ena slitsen bara. Tidningen kommer ut andra december och med en deadline på 13 december blir det lite tight, speciellt eftersom vi leker med tanken om en weekendresa första helgen i december. Jackan är Simplicity 4032, vilket jag använde för min (nu alldeles för stora) sweatshirt blazer. Denna gång dras jag till vy A eller B, lite mer åt B. Tyget för dessa två plagg blir ett stickat jacquardtyg med stretch i marinblått.

Applikationströja
Helt inspirerad av Helena/Gray All Day, vill även jag sy en sweatshirt med applikation. Jag kommer att modifiera Simplicity 1539 och göra en smal sweatshirt med rester av fuskläder i silver till applikationen. Jag har en designidé för applikationen, men jag är inte helt säker på att den går att genomföra, i så fall får jag komma på något annat.

Långärmad t-shirt
Denna viskosjersey med textur hittade jag i stuvlådan på Stoff och stil och jag ska sy en långärmad t-shirt. I mitt tycke är tyget tillräckligt mycket i sig självt för att ha många designelement. Och ja, jag vill modifiera Simplicity 1539 igen. Förutom att sy med en plan ska jag också försöka att utnyttja de mönster och tyger jag redan har.

Smala byxor
Colette Clover i vinrött twill hoppar över från föregående plan – jag måste få dessa gjorda! Baserat på mitt tidigare par, som bars mycket under sommaren, ska jag göra dem lite smalare bak, där fanns mycket överflödigt tyg under rumpan.

Ok-blus
Ännu ett plagg som hoppar hit från höstplanen eftersom jag ville även ha en mer skräddat topp-val. Röd chambery och intressanta design-detaljer, så jag hoppas att denna passar både byxor och kjol. Mönstret är nummer 122 från Burda 10-2012.

Jag ser redan en del klädslar ta form och om jag slänger in min minikjol i denim (som jag älskar och bär väldigt ofta (även om den behöver tas in lite)), så blir det ännu fler möjligheter! Det är ett helt nytt sätt att tänka och jag har redan så smått börjat tänka på vårplanen. Jag måste sluta med det! Hela poängen med planen är ju att sakta ner och fokusera på den pågående planen

4 thoughts on “SWAP – Winter 2015

  1. Pingback: Creation: Red Folded Yoke blouse | By Eitchy

  2. Pingback: Creations: Bordeaux Mini Skirt and Multi-Coloured Top | By Eitchy

  3. Pingback: Creation: The Dexy Sweatshirt | By Eitchy

  4. Pingback: SWAP 2015 Winter | By Eitchy

Leave a Reply

