Creation: Red Folded Yoke blouse

After changing plans, this is the first piece of my winter 2015 SWAP. I was a bit unsure of this pattern. It looked quite fitted in the photo, but as I began to study it online, as it turns out it is quite loose and, surprisingly to me, the yoke isn’t sewn down (it is only attached in the shoulder and sleeve seams). But it seems like I’m all for testing new shapes and silhouettes this fall so why not just go for it?

Folded yoke blouse (8)

Because of the looseness of the blouse I sized down and cut a size 38, on which I did a 3 cm FBA. The FBA process added a side bust dart which wasn’t featured in the original design. I decided to keep it anyway because a) I didn’t want to make the wide waist dart even wider and b) the was not print to distort on this fabric. And while it is a lot looser than much of what I own I still like that this blouse fits me as it’s supposed to fit, not fitting over the bust and being unintentionally over-sized elsewhere.

Folded yoke blouse (5)

The fabric is red chambray, I found it quite cheap in the remnant bin. There are some weaving errors in it, but they are mostly noticed from the wrong side of the fabric. As you can see, it goes well with my denim mini skirt and I was wearing it with a denim jacket as well, rocking the denim-on-denim-on-denim look. Yay, denim! And denim. And denim.

Folded yoke blouse (15)

The pattern is Burda 10-2012-122, which I got from the book Wardrobe Essentials. As always I did some research before starting, I am a scientist at heart, and found out about the looseness, which is why I sized down. Also, I followed fellow Monthly Stitcher Kat’s lead and sewed the yoke shut. Having it opened seemed a bit…odd and this way I could also finish the edges of this super-fraying Chambery. I also took off 5 cm in the bottom, this blouse was long (and I have a pretty long torso)! This way I can wear it both tucked an untucked.

Folded yoke blouse (16)

After I finished the blouse I wasn’t sure I liked the look on me. But I try to wear my things for real before making the final judgment, so I wore the blouse to work and then photographed it. Like most of my clothes do stand out compared to the rest of the people, but I did feel comfortable in it, which surprised me. And I did like how it looked in the photographs, better than in the mirror. Win! I am yet again reminded as to why I shouldn’t judge clothes based on the mirror look, in the end it’s how I feel in the clothes that matter.One project down, five to go! Let’s hope the rest are as successful.

 

Fabric/Tyg: Red Chambery, Stoff och Stil.
Pattern/Mönster: Burda 10-2012-122
Notions: Interfacing/Mellanlägg, 5 buttons/5 knappar.

Efter mitt byte av planer blir denna blus den första delen i min vinter-SWAP. Jag var rätt osäker på detta mönster. Det såg något kroppsnära ut på bilden, men när jag började studera det online upptäckte jag att den är rätt lös och, förvånansvärt för mig, så var oket inte fastsytt (det sitter bara fast i axel- och ärmsömmarna). Men det verkar som om denna hösten ägnar jag åt att testa nya siluetter och former, så varför inte prova?

På grund av blusens from, tog jag en storlek mindre, 38, och gjorde en Full Bust Adjustment på 3 cm. Genom att göra FBA lade jag även en till ett bystinsnitt som inte finns i originaldesignen. Jag valde att behålla detta eftersom a) jag ville inte göra det redan breda midjeinsnittet ännu bredare och b)där fanns ändå inget mönster på tyget som skulle störas. Även om blusen är mycket lösare än det mesta jag äger, gillar att denna blus passar mig såsom den ska passa, inte bara över bysten och sen hänger löst överallt annars.

Tyget är röd Chambéry, det köptes rätt billigt i stuvlådan. Där finns några vävmissar i det, men de syns mest från tygets avigsida. Som synes passar den bra med min denimminikjol och jag bar den även med en denimjacka för att få den rätta denim-on-denim-on-denim looken. Heja denim! Och denim. Och denim.

Mönstret är Burda 10-2012-122, vilket jag har tagit ur boken Wardrobe Essentials. Som alltid gjorde lite efterforskningar innan jag började, jag är vetenskapsman trots allt, och lärde mig om att den var lös, vilket gjorde att jag valde den mindre storleken. Dessutom följde jag Kat/Modern Vintage Cupcakes förslag och sydde ihop oket mot mitt fram. Att lämna det öppet verkade…udda och på detta sätt kunde jag även overlocka kanterna på tyget, det fransade sig mycket. Blusen är även kortad 5 cm, den var lång (och då har jag en lång torso)! På detta sätt kan jag bära den både i- och urstoppad.

När jag var klar var jag inte helt säker på att jag gillade looken på mig. Men jag försöker att bära mina saker i verkligheten innan jag gör min slutgiltiga bedömning, så jag bar blusen på jobb och sedan fotograferade jag den. Som med de flesta av mina kläder står den ut jämfört med vad alla andra bär, men jag var förvånansvärt bekväm i den. Dessutom gillade jag hur den såg ut på bilderna, bättre än i spegeln. Vinst! Och än en gång påminns jag om varför jag inte ska döma kläder baserat på hur de ser ut i spegeln, i slutändan är det hur jag känner mig i plaggen som räknas.

Ett projekt färdigt, fem kvar. Hoppas att de blir lika bra!

8 thoughts on “Creation: Red Folded Yoke blouse

  1. Very nice looking blouse! I really like the way the neckline sits. I’ve been eyeing this pattern, so nice to see how well your version made up. I need to give this one a try!

    • Thanks! Another thought I had was to remove the yoke and get a nice, simple v-neck blouse. I have some viscose in my stash that I don’t know what to use for, so this pattern might be a contender.

  2. Så fin den blev. Tack att du började med den för jag har också den på min att-göra-lista! Nu ska jag också våga mig på den. Ser lite trickig ut det håller jag med om. Men så roligt det är att ha plagg som inte hänger på en galge nära dig eller i varje reklam. Är kul att läsa din blogg, tack för att du delar med dig. Du gör så fina plagg!

    • Tack! Den var inte så svår att sy, det enda är att instruktionerna inte tycker att oket ska sys ihop, det blir batter att sy ihop det tycker jag.

  3. Pingback: SWAP 2015 Winter | By Eitchy

  4. Pingback: 90s Throwback | The Monthly Stitch

Leave a Reply

