Handmade Holiday: Gargano, Italy

After having a terrible summer here in Sweden, I was looking forward to wearing many summer clothes in Italy getting pictures of them with great backdrops and just enjoying wearing them before winter hits us. And then I would come home and show you my lovely outfits along with gorgeous backdrops. Little did I know that October in Gargano would be either beach weather or rain. Beach weather meant I wore a bikini and rain meant I wore jeans and hoodie, none of which I’d made myself.

For the travelling days I wore my aqua Colette Clovers, which were comfortable for flying and the subsequent 2 hour drive. The fit is a bit off so I must try and figure out what to do with the fit before my next pair. No pictures of these outfits, I wore the pants with long-sleeved white t-shirts, because aeroports are not very inspiring.

Cool in blue

Cool in blue

This is in our small garden at the resort. There were olive trees all over, including one in our garden. Since we went to the beach later on, this is basically my breakfast outfit, Wild Flowers Alma and Blue Pocket skirt. Comfortable outfit, and those pockets are quite practical, even if they can only hold small things otherwise it’s pouch galore. Another handmade outfit to see the light of day in Italy was my Gingham Anna dress. Evidently it was worn to the beach, the waves were quite high but it was lovely. Later it came off in favour of the bikini and some salty swims in the Adriatic Sea. I’m not quite happy with the fit, the bodice could be lengthened a bit and the facings don’t stay put despite my under-stitching. Perhaps I should just top-stitch them to at least get that problem out of the way, it’s harder to do something about the bodice length.

Rolled up skirt and shorts

Rolled up skirt and shorts

That was it for the handmade things I worn. But since Gargano was such a gorgeous place I’m going to add a few more pictures anyway, it’s always fun to look at vacations pictures, right?

Mattinata Coast Line

Mattinata Coast Line

Upon our arrival to the hotel, the lunch serving was just ending, so we were told to head down to the patio immediately if we wanted lunch. So we went down and ate a delicious four-course lunch with the view above. Every day we had a four course lunch served and everything was so good; Carpaccio, Mozzarella filled pasta medallions, seafood pasta, lamb chops, swordfish, tiramisu, raspberry ice cream (just some of the highlights). Yummy, yummy, yummy. On the days the weather was nice we had both breakfast and lunch on the patio with that gorgeous view. I’m not one to photograph food so you’ll have to trust me when I said it both looked and tasted delicious.

Onto infinity!

Onto infinity!

The hotel also had a pool with very cold water. Still, I had to go for a swim, because it’s not often I get the opportunity to swim in an infinity pool by the Mediterranean sea. OK, so it’s not really an infinity pool since you can walk behind it, but it’s the closest I’ve been. I told the husband to use an angle to make it look the most infinite.

Majestic trees

Majestic trees

Two of the days it was raining, one of them we drove up in the mountains of Gargano to visit the Umbra Forest, an ancient forest. The trees were quite majestic and it would have been great for hiking if it had not rained or the kids were a bit bigger.

Beware of flying kids!

Beware of flying kids!

Brightening up our car rides was this warning in the rental car. I find this picture hysterical, it’s a definer of my sense of humour. When bored on a car trip I would look up, see this picture and laugh. The kiddo in the back was worried when he noticed my reaction and said he did not want to fly around in the car. I told him that as long as he stayed belted, he needn’t worry. Then I kept on laughing at the picture. It’s seriously hilarious.

10 km finisher!

10 km finisher!

The reason we went to Gargano was to run. I ran (got around) the 10k race and after finishing I concluded that running isn’t my thing. It hurts my legs, I don’t find it fun and I can’t enjoy the surroundings. I got around, changing between running and walking, in a decent time (1.05) but I don’t know if I want to run that much more. Maybe I could do a 5k. At least I got a pretty medal to take home!

Farewell, Gargano!

Farewell, Gargano!

Then, after five lovely days we went home. Our flight route was right above the Gargano peninsula so I had the opportunity to take one last farewell shot. I hope to go there again!

 

Efter den väldigt dåliga sommaren iI Sverige såg jag fram emot att bära manga sommarkläder i Italien, ta bilder med fina bakgrunder och bara njuta av dem innan vintern slår till. Sen skulle jag komma hem och visa upp mina klädslar med de fina bakgrunder. Inte visste jag att oktober i Gargano var antingen strandväder eller regn. Strandväder innebar att jag bar bikini och regn innebar jeans och hoodie, inget som jag har sytt själv.

På de två resedagarna bar jag mina turkosa Colette Clovers, de var bekväma för flygresorna och den följande 2-timmars bilresan. Passformen är lite fel och jag måste lista ut vad jag ska göra åt detta till nästa par. Inga bilder av dessa klädslar, jag bar byxorna med vita långärmade t-shirts, för att flygplatser är inte särskilt inspirerande.

I vår lilla trädgård på hotellet. Alla dalgångar var fyllda av olivträd, vi hade ett i vår trädgård. Eftersom vi åkte till stranden senare är detta i princip min frukost- och lunchklädsel; Vildblomsalman och den blå fickkjolen. Bekvämt och fickorna är rätt praktiska även om de bara kan hålla små saker för att undvika att de faller ihop och bildar en känguruficka. En annan hemmasydd klädsel som fick se dagsljus i Italien var min gingham-Anna. Till synes bars den på stranden, vågorna var rätt höga, men det var trevligt. Senare åkte klänningen av till förmån för bikinin och salta bad i Adriatiska havet. Jag är inte helt nöjd med passformen, framför allt kunde livet vara längre. Dessutom stannar inte infodringarna där de ska vara, trots min under-stitching. Kanske ska jag kantsticka ner dem för att få bort det problemet, livlängden är det svårare att göra något åt.

Det var de handsydda kläderna jag bar, men Gargano var ett så vackert ställe så jag slänger in några bilder till, det är kul att titta på semesterbilder, eller? I alla fall några få…

När vi kom till hotellet höll lunchserveringen på att avslutas, så vi blev nerskickade till terrassen för att hinna få lunch. Vi gick ner och åt en utsökt fyrarätters lunch, till utsikten ovan. Varje dag fick vi fyra rätter och allt var så gott; Carpaccio, Mozzarellafyllda pastamedaljonger, skaldjurspasta, lammkotletter, svärdfisk, tiramisu, hallonglass (bara några av höjdpunkterna). Mums, mums, mums. När vädret var bra åt vi både frukost och lunch på terrassen med den underbara utsikten. Jag fotograferar inte mat, så ni får lita på mig när jag säger att det såg underbart ut och smakade fantastiskt.

Två av dagarna regnade det, en av dem körde vi upp i Garganos berg för att besöka Umbra-skogen, en urskog. Träden var majestätiska och jag hade gärna vandrat där om det inte regnat och barnen var större.

Nåt som livade upp bilturerna var varningen. Jag tycker bilden är hysteriskt kul, den definierar min typ av humor. När jag var uttråkad under en biltur kunde jag bara titta upp på denna bild , jag började alltid skratta. Sonen i baksätet blev orolig när han såg min reaktion och sade att han ville minsann inte flyga runt i bilen. Jag svarade att så länge han hade bälte på sig behövde han inte oroa sig. Sen fortsatte jag att skratta åt bilden. Den är skitkul!

Anledningen till att vi åkte till Gargano var för att springa. Jag sprang (tog mig runt) 10km-loppet och kunde efter målgång konstatera att det här med att springa är inte min grej. Det gör ont i benen, jag tycker inte det är kul och det gör att jag kan inte njuta av omgivningarna. Jag tog mig runt, växlade mellan att springa och gå, på en hyfsad tid (runt 1.05), men jag vet inte om jag vill springa så mycket mer. Kanske skulle klara av 5 km. En fin medalj fick jag med hem i alla fall!

Sen, efter fem underbara dagar åkte vi hem igen. Flygrutten gick precis över Gargano-halvön så jag fick möjlighet att ta en sista bild. Jag hoppas att återvända!

3 thoughts on “Handmade Holiday: Gargano, Italy

  1. Ooh that picture of the trees is especially pretty! I don’t like running either. I’ve twisted an ankle every single time since I was 7. So I’m impressed with anyone who can run a 5k!

  2. Pingback: Creations: Bordeaux Mini Skirt and Multi-Coloured Top | By Eitchy

  3. Pingback: Creation: The Portside Bag – By Eitchy

Leave a Reply

