Creations: Children’s Skirts and Sweaters

So, I made my kids matching clothes. Again. As I was tracing something for me my 5-year-old asked me why I never sew anything for him. Cue the mom guilt. I told him I didn’t think I had any fabric he’d like, so he went to look in my stash. Almost immediately he called, with excitement: “mom, I’ve found the perfect fabric, it has cars and trailers and roads and trees!” Yes, a very nice fabric indeed, he already has a t-shirt in it and the leftover piece was very small. Too small, which I told him. He said he wanted a skirt with cars on it. I told him that I’d make one, but still that piece of fabric was too small. His final attempt was “but mom, boys can wear skirts too!” I said that yes, they can, but that piece was still too small. Anyway, he had effectively put in an order for a skirt with cars.

Gustav's set

Gustav’s set

I bought organic cotton jersey, it’s so soft and a delight to work with. It has the ordered cars, also roads, trees and traffic signs. I made the simplest of skirts, a rectangle with a wide elastic waistband. He loves it. He wore it almost every day on vacation, over jeans as our vacation was cold, to birthday parties and for everyday use. For Erika I also chose a different organic cotton jersey with mushrooms and rainy clouds, as she is fascinated by the rain. Same method for the skirt.

Erika's set of skirt and sweater

Erika’s set

A few weeks later I sewed the accompanying pieces, sweatshirts. I found some purple sweatshirt fabric in the remnant bin and figured I’d use that for the main body and the jersey for the sleeves. Both sweaters were quick and easy to sew, I sewed both sweaters before noon. Gustav is very slim so I used size 104 for width and 122 for length, it’s perfect on him! As for Erika’s I have no idea since she refuses to put it on, crying on the verge of breaking down when I suggest she could wear it. Did I mention she’s two years old and stubborn as hell? It’s a shame since I really like the sweater but if she doesn’t want to wear it she doesn’t have to. It’s quite big so she has time to change her mind.

Now both of Gustav’s pieces have been washed with other things so they differ in colour, they were both white when I started. But the print can still be seen and Gustav likes them. It’s what matters. It is fun to sew for the kids occasionally. It’s even more fun when they actually wear it (for the record Erika does wear the skirt). And this has led to Gustav’s becoming quite a vocal client, ordering pants this time, so I donated a piece of fabric to make him pants. Later on, now it’s back to sewing for me!

Erika SM 02-2012-105 Gustav BS 04-2009-141

Pattern/Mönster:
Skirt: Rectangle skirts
Gustav’s sweater: Burda 04-2009-141
Erika’s sweater: Sömnadsmagasin 02-2012-105

Fabric/Tyg:
Gustav’s skirt and sleeves: Organic cotton jersey, Stoff och Stil
Erika’s skirt and sleeves: Organic cotton jersey, Stoff och Stil
Sweatshirt fabric, Stoff och Stil

Skirt and sweater set (4)

Raglan sleeves for Erika

Ja, jag har sytt matchande kläder till mina barn. Igen. När jag ritade mönster till mig själv en dag frågade min 5-åring varför jag aldrig syr till honom. Och där kom mamma-samvetet in. Jag sade att jag kunde sy något, men att jag inte hade något tyg som jag trodde han skulle gilla. Han gick för att titta bland tygerna och nästan direkt ropade han, väldigt upprymd: ”mamma jag har hittat ett jättefint tyg, med bilar och husvagnar och vägar och träd!” Ja, ett väldigt fint tyg, jag har redan valt detta till en tröja till honom och resten var liten. För liten, vilket jag berättade för honom. Han var exalterad och berättade att han vill ha en kjol med bilar. Jag sade att jag kunde göra en kjol med bilar, men biten var för liten. Han förklarade för mig att ”pojkar kan också ha kjolar!” Jag sade att ja, pojkar kan ha kjolar men att just den biten var fortfarande för liten, ens för en kjol. Men han hade lagt in en beställning på en kjol med bilar.

Regular sleeves for Gustav

Regular sleeves for Gustav

Jag köpte ekologisk stretchjersey, det är verkligen mjukt och trevligt att arbeta med. Det hade de beställda bilarna, men också vägar, träd och trafikskyltar. Jag gjorde den enklaste av kjolar en rektangel med resårmidja. Han älskar den. Han bar nästan varje dag på vår semester, över jeans eftersom sommaren var kall, på kalas och till vardags. Till Erika valde jag en annan stretchjersey, med svampar och regnmoln, eftersom hon är fascinerad av regn. Samma metod på kjolen

Några veckor senare sydde jag matchande sweatshirts. Jag hittade lila sweatshirttyg i stuvlådan och tänkte att det kunde användas till livet och jersey till ärmarna. Båda tröjorna var snabba och enkla att sy, både syddes på en förmiddag. Gustav är rätt smal, så till hans tröja använde jag storlek 104 i bredd och 122 i längd och den är perfekt på honom! Erikas har jag ingen aning om eftersom hon vägrar att sätta på sig den och gråter så att hjärtat blöder när jag föreslår att hon ska ha tröjan. Hon är två år förresten och envis som synden. Det är tråkigt eftersom jag gillar tröjan men om hon inte vill ha tröjan slipper hon. Den är rätt stor så tid finns att ångra sig.

Båda av Gustavs plagg har tvättats med andra saker så de har fått olika färg, de var båda vita när jag sydde. Men trycket syns fortfarande och Gustav gillar dem. Det är det som spelar roll. Det är kul att sy till barnen emellanåt. Det är ännu roligare när de faktiskt bär kläderna (Erika bär sin kjol ibland). Detta har också lett till att Gustav har blivit en kund med höga krav. Nu vill han ha byxor och jag donerade ett tyg till honom att göra byxor av. Sen, nu är det tid att sy till mig!

2 thoughts on “Creations: Children’s Skirts and Sweaters

  1. I shouldn’t laugh, but your description of your children and their very specific sartorial preferences makes me smile .🙂

    • They do have their preferences, but in reality they’re really not that picky. Erika still favors the now too small cassette leggings I sewed her last year, so she doesn’t reject all mum-made clothing.

Leave a Reply

