Creations: Bordeaux Mini Skirt and Multi-Coloured Top

Inlägget finns på svenska längre ner

After my holiday in Italy it seemed like such a big hurdle to get sewing again. I had no ongoing project, I had loads and loads of plans but nothing enticed me, I had to take out the machine again. Plus the normal things of getting back in routine, planning dinners, catching up on laundry. In the midst of everything I had also planned a sewing meet-up, which was great for getting inspiration flowing again!

Therefore I can now present two garments from my Winter plan! A skirt in a burgundy red twill and a simple knit top in a variety of colour. Both pieces work both for the office, on a casual day, and at home. Perfect!

New outfit

New outfit

For the skirt I used the same pattern as for my denim mini skirt, 3A from Burda Easy FW2014. This skirt is so easy to wear and still have an interesting shape due to the shaped seam lines. I took my time with the waistband, under-stitching and ditch-stitching, plus I used the method from Colette’s Clover pant to conceal the zipper, it makes for a very neat finish! Or would have had I not sewn a little bit too close to the zipper so it won’t do up all the way. Plus, I accidentally put the zipper in the right side seam. No biggie, right, but it has happened that I put the skirt on back-to-front before remembering my mishap.

Zipper in the right side seam... oops!

Zipper in the right side seam… oops!

The top is in a viscose knit. It’s lighter than a usual viscose knit and not as drape-y, plus is has a wrinkled texture to it. I like all of these things, since the top is not clingy and it has some interest. I used Simplicity 1539 as a base (from my bow top and Scuba dress), it could have been a bit longer, but other than that it fits me fine, grading from a 10 in the shoulders, 12 over the chest and 10 again in the waist. Perfect! I finished the neckline, which I’ve lowered a bit, with a band and the hems are just simple fold-over hems.

I wanted to sew the whole top, or as much of it as possible, on the over-locker, but we’re not exactly friends at the moment. The looper threads keep breaking (it’s either one or the other. Sometimes both) so now I will set aside some time for studying threading in detail, since I think that’s where the problem lies.

Concealed zipper

Concealed zipper

Now, did you click the link to my winter plan in the beginning of the post? Did you realise that nowhere on that plan is there a mini skirt in twill but rather pants in said twill? I did make pants, I did work on fitting them better. However, they fit too well and are now way too tight. But that’s a subject for another post.

Nice curved seams

Nice curved seams

(Also I do apologise for the dark pictures. It’s a problem all of us in the Northern hemisphere share right now I suppose)

Pattern/Mönster: Skirt/Kjol: Burda Easy FW2014 3A Top/topp: Simplicity 1539 (which I Think is now OOP) – modified

Fabrics/Tyg:

Skirt/Kjol: Stretchtwill, Stoff och Stil (97% cotton, 3% elestan). Printed cotton sheeting for waistband facing.

Top/topp: Viscose jersey/viskosjersey

Notions/Sybehör: Skirt/kjol: Invisible zipper, fusible interfacing. Osynligt blixtlås, påpressbart mellanlägg.

 

Efter semestern i Italien var det ett stort hinder att komma över för att börja sy igen. Jag hade inget pågående projekt, jag hade massa planer men inget lockade, jag var tvungen att plocka fram och ställa i ordning maskinerna. Och alla normala saker av att komma tillbaks till rutinerna, planera mat, tvätta resegarderoberna. Mitt i allt hade jag dessutom planerat en sy-träff, vilket var perfekt för att få igång inspirationen igen

Därför kan jag nu presentera två plagg från min vinterplan! En kjol i bordeauxröd twill och en enkel trikåtröja i massor av färger! Båda plaggen fungerar både för kontoret, när jag vill vara lite ledig och här hemma. Perfekt!

Till kjolen använde jag samma monster som för min minikjol i denim, 3A från Burda Easy HV2014. Kjolen är så enkel att bära och har ändå en intressant form tack vare de kurviga sömmarna. Linningen är jag mycket nöjd med, då jag tog mig tid i både under-stitchingen och ditch-stitchningen (alltså att sy fast linningen mot sömsmånen och sen sy fast underkanten genom att sy en söm i den söm som sätter fast linning och kjol). För att få ett snyggt blixtlås använde jag metoden från Colettes Clover, vilket ger en väldigt snygg omslutning och avslutning av blixtlåset. Synd bara att jag sydde lite för nära blixtlåset så jag kan inte dra upp det hela vägen. Dessutom satte jag det i höger söm istället för vänster, ingen större fara men det händer att kjolen hamnar bakofram innan jag kommer på min miss.

Toppen är i viskosjersey. Den är lättare än vanlig viskosjersey, inte lika draperande och så har den en lite skrynklad textur. Jag gillar alla dessa saker eftersom toppen på så sätt inte klänger på mig så mycket och har något annorlunda med sig. Jag använde Simplicity 1539 som bas (från min rosett-topp och Scuba-klänning), den kunde ha varit lite längre men i övrigt sitter den bra, jag har storlek 10 vid axlar och midjan och 12 över bysten. Perfekt! Ringningen, som jag sänkt något, har jag avslutat med ett band och fållarna är bara vikta.

Jag ville sy så mycket av toppen som möjligt på over-locken, men vi är inte direkt vänner för tillfället. Looper-trådarna går sönder allt som oftast (antingen den ena eller andra. Ibland båda två), så nu kommer jag ta mig tid till att verkligen noggrant studera hur jag ska trä den, för jag tror det är där problemet ligger.

Fråga: tryckte du på länken till min plan I början av inlägget? Såg du att ingenstans på den planen finns det en minikjol i twill, snarare byxor i samma twill? Jag gjorde faktiskt byxor, jag jobbade med passning av dem. Emellertid blev det alldeles för tight passform och de blev oanvändbara. Men det är ett ämne för ett annat inlägg.

(Jag ber om ursäkt för de mörka bilderna. Ett problem för oss alla här uppe i norr, antar jag)

5 thoughts on “Creations: Bordeaux Mini Skirt and Multi-Coloured Top

  1. Pingback: Creation: The Dexy Sweatshirt | By Eitchy

  2. Pingback: 2015 Summary: Hits and Misses | By Eitchy

  3. Pingback: SWAP 2015 Winter | By Eitchy

  4. Pingback: Me-Made-May Week 3 – By Eitchy

Leave a Reply

