Creation: The Dexy Sweatshirt

This might be my most far-fetched name of a creation yet, and then I’ve even named a dress The Oasis dress, due to the fact that it’s in corduroy, which is Manchester in Swedish, which just happens to be the home town of the band Oasis. But, I might have outdone myself this time and it also references music. Fashion and music do go hand in hand, maybe that’s the key to getting the best far-fetched names.

So the Dexy Sweatshirt it is! This sweatshirt is special in that way that my husband actually can get design credits for it. The grey sweatshirt with faux silver leather applique is an idea that has been floating around in my mind for quite a while. At first I had planned to make the applique “judo” in kanji, tying my two hobbies together, but then I looked up how the kanji looked and realized that there was no way I could make that look good. Lest not forget that the applique is faux leather and I couldn’t pin it in place with needles (I could have used glue, I realized later, after my applique was finished).

Dexy Sweatshirt (10)

Giving up on the judo idea, I figured maybe an exclamation mark would be an easy enough applique, it is just a rectangle and a dot or a square if you’re that way inclined. I told my husband and he suggested that he thought a question mark would be even better. I still haven’t figured out how that reflects his views of me, being better represented by a question mark then an exclamation mark. Then he proceeded to help me design said question mark on account of balancing it properly. I really don’t know what happened there.

The pattern I used is about to become the most used pattern of 2015. It’s Simplicity 1539 (OOP). I used it to make my scuba dress, my multi-coloured top and I am working on one more iteration beside this sweatshirt. The sweatshirt is quite fitted, perhaps a little too fitted, but I’d rather have it so than too loose. I would have sewn it on the over-locker, but my loopers were giving me a hard time so it’s sewn on my regular machine. In the end it was a better choice as I really like how sweatshirt fabrics behaves when pressing the seams, it looks so good!

The Midnight Run medal

The Midnight Run medal

Now, to get back to that far-fetched name of the Dexy Sweatshirt, I don’t know if I should feel proud for coming up with such a far-fetched title or revel in the fact that no one will get it and it’s just I that I think I’m clever and witty. But try and follow along, because here goes the longest story of a creation name: I was working with my husband on the question mark design. Once the mark itself was completed I needed a dot. I looked around my sewing room, on my desk I found a medal from when I ran a 10k last year (ran/walked/got around same-same). It was perfectly round and a great size for the dot so I used that as my template. The race I ran was the Midnight Run, and when I think of Midnight Runners, I think of Dexy. Simple as that. At least I stopped there and didn’t name the sweatshirt the Eileen Sweatshirt or something. I like to think that I know when to stop, which I don’t always do. I also contemplated on using some sort of 50 shades of Grey reference, due to the fact that this sweatshirt has 3 shades of grey, but since I’ve never read that book and have no intention of doing so, I stuck with my 80s music reference.

When I wore this sweater for the first time, Gustav was very interested in the design. He asked what it was on the front and I said it was a question mark. Or, he said, is the mystery mousketool from Mickey’s Clubhouse. We all have our different references.

Dexy Sweatshirt (9)

So, now I’m 4/6 on my winter SWAP. The two last pieces are in scuba knit, so I’m sure I’ll be able to finish them until the deadline of mid-December. With that, I’m off to ponder what my husband’s next contribution to my designs will be.

ETA: I forgot to add my inspiration in my original posting. Since the inspiration shirt is cute, not to mention that the blogger has a great name, I will guide you to Helena/Gray All Day and her cute Sew what?-shirt.

Pattern: Simplicity 1539
Fabric: Sweatshirt fabric, Interlock, faux leather all from Stoff och Stil

Dexy Sweatshirt (12)

 

Detta kan vara det mest långsökta namnet jag har givit ett plagg nånsin, och då ska en ha i åtanke att jag har en klänning som heter Oasis-klänningen för att den är sydd in Manchester (vilket blir ännu mer långsökt på engelska eftersom manchester heter corduroy). Men denna gång har jag överträffat mig själv och ännu en gång refereras musik. Mode och musik går visst hand i hand, det kanske är min nyckel till att hitta på de bästa långsökta namnen.

Det fick bli Dexy-tröjan! Denna tröja är speciell på så sätt att min man faktiskt kan få tillskriva sig lite av designen på den. Att göra en grå tröja med applikation i silvrigt fuskläder är en idé som jag har haft ett tag. Till att börja med hade jag tänkt att applikationen skulle vara kanji-tecknen för judo, för att föra mina två hobbyer samman, men efter att jag såg hur kanjin såg ut insåg jag att det fanns inte en chans att jag skulle kunna göra detta. Glöm inte att applikationen är i läder och jag kunde inte nåla fast den (i efterhand insåg jag att jag kunde ha använt lim, men då var jag redan klar).

När jag övergav judo-idén tänkte jag att ett utropstecken kunde vara en bra applikation, det är i princip bara en rektangel med en prick eller ruta beroende på vad som gillas. Jag berättade det för min man och han föreslog att ett frågetecken skulle kunna vara ännu bättre. Jag har fortfarande inte listat hur detta speglar hans syn på mig, att jag passar bättre som frågetecken än utropstecken. Sen fortsatte han med att hjälpa till med designen av frågetecknet, genom att hjälpa till att balansera det. Jag vet inte riktigt vad som hände där.

Mönstret som jag använde är på god väg att bli mitt mest använda monster 2015. Simplicity 1539, som jag använde till min scubaklänning, min mulitfärgade top och just nu jobbar jag på ännu en version av det, utöver denna tröja. Tröjan är rätt tight, kanske lite för mycket, men jag har den hellre så att för lös. Jag skulle ha sytt den på min overlocker, men mina looper-trådar bråkade med mig so den är sydd på min vanliga symaskin. I slutändan var det bättre eftersom sweatshirttyg blir så fint när sömmarna pressas.

För att återgå till mitt långsökta namn, Dexy-tröjan, så vet jag inte om jag är stolt över min förmåga att hitta på långsökta namn eller våndas av faktumet att ingen kommer att fatta det och att det bara är jag som tycker jag är smart och rolig. Men försök att hänga i denna, den längsta historien om ett plaggs namn: Som sagt, jag jobbade med mannen på designen av frågetecknet. När själva tecknet var färdigt behövdes bara pricken. Jag tittade runt i mitt syrum, i jakt på en bra mall. På skrivbordet låg min medalj från ett lopp jag sprang förra året (sprang/gick/tog mig igenom). Den var helt rund och i perfekt storlek, så den fick bli min mall. Loppet var Midnattsloppet och när jag tänker på Midnight Runners så tänker jag på Dexy. Så enkelt. Jag stannade i alla fall där och gav inte tröjan namnet Eileen-tröjan eller nåt. Jag vill tro att jag vet när jag ska sluta, men det är inte alltid så. Jag funderade också på att en 50 Shades of Grey referens hade kunnat användas eftersom tröjan har 3 nyanser av grått, men eftersom jag har inte läst boken, och har inga planer på att göra så, så höll jag fast vid min 80-tals musikreferens.

När jag bar tröjan första gången fick jag ännu ett tips på långsökt namn. Gustav undrade vad det var på tröjan och jag sade att det är ett frågetecken. Han menade att det kunde också vara det mystiska musskeredskapet från Musses klubbhus. Vi har alla våra olika referenser.

Med detta är 4 av 6 plagg i min vinterplan klara. De två sista plaggen är i scuba, så de kommer säkert att bli klara till deadline i mitten av december. Med det går jag för att fundera på vad min mans nästa bidrag till mina designer kommer att bli.

Redigerat: Jag glömde att berätta varifrån min inspiration kom. Eftersom inspirationströjan är söt och bloggaren har ett bra namn, vill jag guida er till Helena/Gray All Day och hennes “Sew What?”-tröja

Mönster: Simplicity 1539
Tyg: Sweatshirttyg, interlock och fuskläder, alla från Stoff och Stil.

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Creation: The Dexy Sweatshirt

  1. Pingback: 2015 Summary: Hits and Misses | By Eitchy

    • Thanks! You know what, I was inspired by your “Sew What?” shirt and totally forgot to add that inspiration in my post. Will edit now, credit is deserved.

  2. Pingback: SWAP 2015 Winter | By Eitchy

  3. Pingback: Me-Made-May 16: Week 2 – By Eitchy

  4. Pingback: Me-Made-May Week 3 – By Eitchy

Leave a Reply

