Creations: Scuba Set

Behold the final garments of my winter plan! A scuba set (yeah, I told you  I wanted more scuba). One of those “sew two, get three” set since the idea is that the pieces can be worn together or separately with other items.

scuba set (3)

If you look at the winter plan there is no scuba set on it. This can be a good time to tell you that the jacquard set I have on the plan will never be seen. After making the scuba dress I was coveting more scuba and the jacquard fabric I had chosen on the plan didn’t feel very nice in the store, so I chose the scuba instead. Maybe I did try to find something wrong with the jacquard just so I could buy the scuba, but the wrong side did just not feel very nice and it wasn’t something I’d like to put on my skin. I successfully convinced myself that scuba was the better choice.

scuba set (8)

However, I had picked out a skirt and a cardigan to sew and neither of these pieces is that skirt or that cardigan. First I figured the scuba would be too heavy for a cardigan so I made the peplum top instead. I have this doubt in my mind that it won’t stand the test of time, but I’m hoping it won’t be too dated anytime soon. The pattern is Simplicity 1539, used for the fourth time this year but, for the first time I made it as it’s supposed to be, peplum and all! It wasn’t really hard to sew. Using a super-stretchy fabric just means no basting is needed to ease the sleeve head and even hemming a half circle peplum isn’t an issue, just stretch and no bulges will appear (I hate hemming circle/half circles for that reason). As for the sleeve length, I did imagine ¾ length, but cut them long just so I could postpone my decision. Then I accidentally cut a hole in the bottom of one sleeve, effectively telling me to use a shorter length, even though I don’t know what this length would qualify as. ¾, 7/8? I honestly have no clue. All I know is that they are a length I like.

scuba set (15)

For the skirt, I thought of a slight A-line shape, since it’s a shape I like to wear. Sometimes it’s just that easy. I had planned on a skirt from Burda Easy FW2015, but when I got the magazine I noticed that while it was shaped with panels in the front, it had darts in the back and I thought darts would be too bulky in the scuba. Instead I used the skirt from the Burdastyle Sewing Handbook. It’s designed for a woven and while the skirt part worked out OK, I’m not completely happy with the waistband, since I didn’t know how to assemble it in a knit that cannot be ironed. It’s a bit wonky, so I must wear it with something untucked so it won’t be seen. I do love the shape and length of the skirt, though.

Holding in to make pencil skirt

Holding in to make pencil skirt

Although I did sew the pieces to go together as a set, I’m not sure that the silhouettes go together very well. I think that the peplum would be better served with a pencil skirt rather than A-line. I think I have enough fabric to make a knit pencil skirt so I might sew that in the future. This is also why I never re-did my wonky waistband, I’d rather save the fabric for a whole new garment than correct the waistband.

Twirl!

Twirl!

I have now successfully completed my first plan, and have some time for unplanned sewing until it’s spring plan time. The spring plan is to be presented in late January and completed in late March. The wardrobe planning group I’m in on Facebook holds you to it, if you don’t present a plan and what you sewed you get kicked out. Tough rules, but I like them, they keep me focused. So now it’s time to begin planning what to wear in the spring.

 

Att skåda: de två sista plaggen i min vinterplan! Ett set i scuba (ja, jag sade att jag ville ha mer scuba). Ett set i ”sy två, få tre”-anda eftersom plaggen kan bäras tillsammans eller var för sig med andra plagg.

 

Om en tittar noggrant på vinterplanen är det lätt att se att där är inget scubaset i den. Jag kan också passa på att säga att jacquardsetet på planen aldrig kommer att ses. Efter att jag hade sytt scubaklänningen ville jag ha mer av det och jacquardtyget jag hade i min plan kändes inte så trevligt, däfrör valde jag scuba istället. Det kanske var så att jag medvetet försökte hitta fel på jacquarden så att jag skulle få köpa det tyg jag egentligen ville ha, men avigan kändes helt enkelt inte som något jag skulle vilja ha emot min hud. Jag lyckades alltså övertyga mig själv om att scuba var ett bättre val.

 

Inte heller är den cardigan eller kjol i min plan de plagg som jag faktiskt sydde. Scuban var för tung för att bli en cardigan, så jag gjorde toppen med skört istället. Jag har lite tvivel att den kanske kommer att kännas lite ”tidigt 10-tal” om några år, men förhoppningsvis inte alltför snart. Mönstret är Simplicity 1539 i sin fjärde reinkarnation detta år, men för första gången har jag gjort den enligt mönstret, med skört. Den var inte alls svår att sy och med ett så stretchigt tyg behövs inga tråckeltrådar för att hålla in ärmkullen och att sy en fåll i en halvcirkel med stretch är inte heller svårt, bara dra i tyget tills det ligger plant (jag hatar annars att fålla cirkel- och halvcirkelkjolar av den anledningen). Angående ärmlängden tänkte jag först 3/4-ärmar, men klippte ut dem långa för att kunna skjuta upp beslutet. Sen råkade jag klippa ett hål i ena ärmen, vilket gjorde att jag fick använda denna längd. Vad är denna längd? ¾? 7/8? Jag har ingen aning, men jag gillar längden de blev.

 

Till kjolen var planen en A-linjekjol, det är en siluett jag gillar att bära. Ibland är det bara så enkelt. Planen var en kjol från Burda Easy HV2015, men när jag fick tidningen såg jag att även om den hade paneler fram var det inprovningar och de skulle nog inte bli bra i det tjocka scuba-tyget. Istället blev det kjolen från Burdastyle’s Sewing Handbook. Den är designad för ett vävt tyg och själva kjoldelen blev bra, men linningen är jag inte helt nöjd med eftersom jag inte visste hur jag skulle sy den i ett stickat tyg som dessutom inte kan strykas. Den är lite skev, så jag måste bära något över som döljer detta. Jag älskar dock siluetten och längden på kjolen.

 

Även om jag sydde båda plaggen att matcha som ett set är jag inte helt säker på att siluetterna funkar helt bra. Skörtet skulle nog göra sig bättre med en pennkjol än en A-linjekjol. Jag tror att jag har tillräckligt med tyg för även en pennkjol, så det kanske dyker upp i framtiden. Detta är också anledningen till varför jag inte gjorde om linningen, jag sparar hellre tyget till ett nytt plagg än att rätta till linningen.

 

Min första plan är nu helt komplett, så jag har tid för lite oplanerad sömnad tills det är dags för vårplanen. Den ska presenteras sent i januari och vara klar i slutet av mars. Sy garderoben med en plan-gruppen på Facebook har höga krav, om du inte presenterar en plan och resultatet åker du ut. Hårda regler, men jag gillar dem då de hjälper mig att hålla fokus. Så nu är det dags att planera vad jag ska bära i vår.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Creations: Scuba Set

  1. Congrats on finishing up your first plan! I’d call those 3/4 sleeves. The peplum may be a tad too long for that skirt silhouette, but in the first couple pics especially, it works. It would still be interesting to compare with a pencil skirt look, too!

  2. Wow, they are serious in that Facebook group! I love that fabric – would never have guessed it is scuba.🙂 I didn’t notice anything off in the first picture – you look lovely. But I agree that the second picture with the skirt “a la” pencil skirt style is a better silhouette if you want to pair the two pieces. Good job on progressing on your plan!

  3. Pingback: 2015 Summary: Hits and Misses | By Eitchy

  4. Pingback: SWAP 2015 Winter | By Eitchy

Leave a Reply

