2015 Summary: Hits and Misses

This year I have made 27 garments. I am amazed at myself. Some of them I’ve worn plenty, some of the are still unused. Some of them were never even finished. Join me as I look back on 2015 with my best work and the work that didn’t really cut it. Later on I’ll get to my reflections, highlights and goals for the upcoming year. How did 2015 serve me?

I år har jag sytt 27 plagg. Jag förvånas över mig själv. Npgra har jag burit mycket, andra ligger oanvända i garderoben. Andra blev aldrig ens klara. Här tittar jag tillbaks på 2015 med mitt bästa arbete samt det arbete som inte riktigt blev bra. Senare ska jag reflektera över mitt syår, lista mina höjdpunkter och sätta mål för 2016. Hur var 2015 mot mig?

Hits

Denim mini skirt

Denim Mini Skirt, seen here with the Dexy Sweatshirt

Denim Mini Skirt, seen here with the Dexy Sweatshirt

Ever since making this skirt it has been in constant rotation! It goes with everything, it’s easy to dress up or down. I’ve worn it for work, for leisure and for kids’ birthday parties. The pattern was quite simple but still has interesting lines to it. My husband likes that I’m getting more used to making and wearer shorter skirts, he likes the hemline going up. I think it says pretty much about my style that I feel modern in this skirt. How to keep that up?

Sen jag sydde denna kjol har jag använt den mycket! Den matchar allt, kan kläs upp eller ner. Den har burits på jobb, till fritiden och barnkalas. Mönstret var enkelt, men har ändå intressanta linjer. Min man gillar att jag har börjat använda kjolar som är kortare. JAg tycker att det sager mycket om min stil att jag känner mig modern i denna kjol. Hur ska jag fortsätta med det?

African Belladone

Five muslins later...

Five muslins later…

I received the fabric via another blogger, who generously bought a piece of African wax print to share with someone for The Monthly Stitch’s second birthday (Thanks again, Siobhan!). I work through many muslins and fitting and finally realizing that I’m long-waisted, something that had never occurred to me before. The dress is awesome, both because it fits so well but also because it’s a unique dress in a great fabric.

Detta tyg fick jag via en annan bloggare, some köpte en bit afrikanskt vaxtyg att dela med någon till två-årsdagen för The Monthly Stitch. Det blev många provplagg och jag insåg att min midja sitter långt ner (jag har en lång torso), något som aldrig hade slagit mig innan. Klänningen är häftig för mig, bade för att den passer så väl, men också för att den är en unik klänning i ett häftigt tyg.

Social Sewing

I’ve become more engaged in the Swedish sewing community, which mostly takes place on Facebook (and Instagram, maybe I should get back there with a sewing account). Also I’ve had a few meet-ups with local sewers and I hope we will continue this in the new year!

 Jag har engagerat mig mer i den svenska sy-community, vilken är mest aktiv på Facebook (och Instagram, jag kanske ska komma tillbaks dit med ett syrelaterat konto). Jag har även träffat några sömmerskor i närheten och jag hoppas att vi kommer att fortsätta med detta nästa år!

Simplicity 1539

One of the four iterations

One of the four iterations

I used this pattern 4 times in 2015 and I still have only used one view of it (Scuba dress, Multi-coloured top, Dexy sweatshirt and Peplum top). It’s a hit because it helped me realise that my pattern collection extends beyond what the cover art shows. Just a little creativity and I can use what I have.

Jag använde detta mönster 4 gånger under 2015 och jag har ändå bara använt en vy av det (Scuba-klänning, Flerfärgad top, Dexy-tröjan och Top med skört). Jag sätter det som en hit eftersom det har hjälpt mig inse att min mönsterkollektion sträcker sig längre än vad omslagsbilderna visar. JAg måste använda min kreativitet mer och använda det jag har.

Wardrobe Building

I feel that this year was the first year when I actually sewed things I wear regularly. I identified gaps in my wardrobe and filled them, sewed things for a mix-and-match wardrobe, but still had fun. In the end the things I’ve sewn this year gets worn much more than previous creations. Also, since learning more about fit and my body my clothes are more comfortable to wear.

 Detta året var det första året när jag sydde kläder som jag bär regelbundet. Jag har identifierat hål i min garderob och fyllt dem, sytt för en garderob där plaggen passar samman, men fortfarande haft kul. De saker jag har sytt detta år har använts mer än tidigare kreationer. Dessutom har jag lärt mig mer om passform och min kropp, vilket gör att sakerna är mer bekväma att bära.

Misses

Cropped Hawthorn

This is the only time I've worn this shirt...

This is the only time I’ve worn this shirt…

I spent a lot of time on this project, the fabric is crisp, the shirt fits well and the sewing’s good. But I’ve never worn it. I guess a cropped top had nothing to do in my wardrobe and it is a bit bulky to layer over.

Jag lade ner mycket tid på detta project, tyget är bra till en skjorta, skjortan passer mig bra och sömnaden är fin. Men jag har aldrig burit den. Min gissing är att en kort skjorta hade ingen plats i min garderob och den har för mycket volym för att använda under en kofta.

Jacket that wasn’t

There was no way to rescue this mess...

There was no way to rescue this mess…

I figured a jacket from Burda Easy would be a great way to segue into more tailored garments. While the instructions were quite easy, complete with pictures, the cut wasn’t really what I expected. It is pointed out, in the magazine, that this jacket needs a slim silhouette in order to look its best. I may have a bit of a sway back, I haven’t really looked into it much, but the amount of excess fabric around my waist was quite big. The jacket hangs, sleeveless, in my sewing room and I don’t think it can be salvaged, but I just can’t bear myself to throw it out.

 Jag tänkte att en jacka från Burda Easy skulle vara en bra inkörsport till mer skräddade plagg. Även om instruktionerna var lätta att följa, med bilder, var snittet inte riktigt vad jag förväntade mig. I tidningen poängteras det att jackan behöver vara skuren smalt för att se bra ut, men runt min midja var det mycket överflödigt tyg. Jag kanske har en sway-back, men det var för mycket tyg även om så var fallet. Kavajen hänger, ärmlös, i mitt syrum och även om jag inte tror att jag kan rädda den, har jag inte hjärta att slänga den riktigt än.

Wild flowers top

I made this as a replica of a top I already had. Due to my being lazy I didn’t do a proper FBA, only lowered the Dior bust dart, because the other top has a pretty decent fit. This top, however, had none of it. As I sewed the neckline and armhole facings (all in one bit) the neckline stretched and I had a horrible gape in the back and front while it still was too tight over the bust. Lesson learnt, I need to FBA. I took pictures of the top to show the gape before ripping the zipper out and putting it in my Wild Flowers Alma instead and sending the fabric to recycling, but now I can’t find them…

Denna är en replika av en top jag redan hade sytt. Eftersom jag är lat gjorde jag ingen FBA, men jag sänkte Dior-inprovningen eftersom min gamla top passade hyfsat bra. Denna toppen gjorde inte det. När jag sydde infodringarna till ärm och ringning (i ett stycke) måste jag ha sträckt ringningen och resultatet blev att top glipade både fram och bak samtidigt som den var för trång over bysten. Jag har lärt mig min läxa, jag behöver en FBA. Jag tog bilder av toppen för att visa min dåliga passform, innan jag tog ut blixtlåset och satte det i min Alma och skickade tyget till återvinning, men nu kan jag inte hitta dem.

 These three are the ones that really stand out to me as fails, which I guess is a good grade for the year. I’m not going to look hard to find other fails, when I’m obviously pleased with what I’ve produced. And a productive year it’s been! Soon I’ll share what I’ve learnt, thought of and what my plans are for the next year.

Dessa tre är de som står ut som misslyckande för mig, vilket jag antar är ett bra betyg för året som gått. Jag tanker inte leta längre för att hitta andra misslyckanden, när jag uppenbarligen är nöjd med vad jag har producerat. Och det har varit ett produktivt år! Snart ska jag dela med mig av vad jag har lärt mig, tänkt på och mina planer för nästa år.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “2015 Summary: Hits and Misses

  1. Pingback: 2015 Summary: Reflections, Highlights and Goals | By Eitchy

Leave a Reply

