2015 Summary: Reflections, Highlights and Goals

The last piece of my 2015 summary is reflections, highlights and goals. Previously I have written about my hits and misses.

Min sista del av min sammanfattning av 2015 är reflektioner, höjdpunkter och mål. Tidigare skrev jag om fullträffar och missar.

Reflections

Sewing is my creative outlet

I love sewing. I love planning, going fabric shopping, seeing a garment come to life. I also like writing about it, getting some training in writing, even if it lacks a bit in direction. Sewing is where I want to spend my time and attention. Writing comes pretty natural to me, but is still second hand. Photography, let’s just say I’m glad when I can get daylight photographs that show off my garments. I don’t want to spend too much time on the photography because to me, it’s not what I’m sewing for. I love documenting my creations and my progress in sewing, not photography. Self-timer in the backyard or in the house are good enough for me. I don’t want to take precious sewing time perfecting my photography and (non-existent) photo-editing skills.

Sömnad är mitt kreativa uttryck

Jag älskar att sy. Jag älskar planera, handla tyg, se ett plagg komma till liv. Jag tycker också om att skriva om det, få en skrivningsövning emellanåt, även om det inte är disciplinerat. Sömnad är det jag vill lägga tid och uppmärksamhet på. Att skriva är enkelt för mig, men det är fortfarande tvåa i loppet. Fotografering, jag kan säga att en bra dag får jag dagsljus till mina bilder. Jag vill inte lägga för mycket tid på fotograferingen eftersom det inte är därför jag syr. Jag vill dokumentera mina kreationer, om så bara för mig själv, och mina framsteg inom sömnad, inte inom fotografering. Självutlösare på tomten eller inne är bra nog för mig. Jag vill inte sno av min dyrbara sömnadstid för att batter bemästra fotografering eller fotoredigering (om vilket jag kan noll och intet).

I want to progress

This year I have made better friends with my over-locker, we are still not the best of friends, maybe it needs a service (the looper threads break quite frequently). I have also learnt more about working with knits and fitting. I don’t want to stop here. I want to keep on learning new things and techniques, doing them in different ways, learn more about fabrics, using other types of fabric. I want to learn more, at my own pace, while building my wardrobe. In my upcoming plans I will add new techniques and garments, little by little, to teach myself more.

Jag vill utvecklas

Detta år har jag blivit bättre kompis med min overlocker, men vi är ännu inte bästa vänner, den kanske behöver en service (looper-trådarna går ofta av). Jag har också lärt mig mer om att arbeta med trikå och passning av monster till min kropp. Jag vill inte stanna här. Jag vill fortsätta lära mig nya saker och tekniker, olika sätt att göra dem, lära mig mer om tyg, använda olika sorters tyg. Jag vill lära mig mer, i min takt, samtidigt som jag bygger min garderob. I kommande planer kommer jag lägga till nya tekniker och plagg, lite i taget, för att lära mig själv mer.

My blog is for me
I want to keep this blog as my own journal over my creations, my musings and my progress. The way I write shall reflect me and I don’t want to write to attract readers. I know I’m not skilled enough to write tutorials or draft patterns, so I’m not going to do that. I have deflected from myself in the way I write and I want to get back to being me on this blog. 

Bloggen är för mig

Jag vill behålla denna blog som min egen journal över mina kreationer, mina tankar och mina framsteg. Hur jag skriver ska spegla mig och inte för att locka läsare. Jag vet att jag inte har kunskaperna att skriva beskrivningar och rita mönster så jag ska inte göra det. Jag har avvikit från mitt sätt att skriva så jag ska försöka kma tillbaks till mig själv.

I don’t need a whole lot of patterns

While I don’t have a huge pattern stash, I have plenty of patterns, mainly in pattern books. I want to use them and what I have and not buy new things to use once or twice. Patterns are quite expensive! Let’s see if I can go the whole year without buying new patterns. If I buy something it must be very unique and not like anything else in my collection.

Jag har inte jättemånga mö.ster men en hel del mönsterböcker. Jag vill använda dem nyttja det jag har och inte köpa nytt att bara använda en eller två gånger. Det är rätt dyrt med mönster! Vi får se om jag klarar ett helt år utan att köpa nya mönster. Om jag köper något ska det vara unikt och inte som något annat iin samling.

Highlights

Mattinata Coast Line

Travelling! Italy was lovely in October

10 km finisher!

10 km finisher!


The year has treated me to travelling, a new job and lovely moments with my family and friends. Still it feels like an in-between year, with nothing big to come out of it. I’ve loved the travelling we’ve done, I’ve read books and learnt more. I’ve seen three musicals over the year (American Idiot, Kristina från Duvemåla and Top Hat) and I hope to do more cultural things in the next year, also finding things that are appropriate for the kids.

The job I got isn’t what I want to do, plus it’s only a temporary position to the end of June. So in my personal life, it’s been a great year, but in my professional life I feel like I’m still at the same point I was last year. With aging grandparents, I feel like 2016 will be quite rough, but I’m hoping to make progress in my work life and find something that’s better suited for me. I hope the good will outshine the bad in the end.

Året har bjudit mig på resande, ett nytt jobb och fina minnen med familj och vänner. Ändå känns det som ett mellanår, med inget stort som har kommit ur det. Jag älskar att resa, så det har varit underbart, jag har läst böcker och lärt mig mer. Jag har sett tre musikaler (American Idiot, Kristina från Duvemåla och Top Hat) och jag hoppas göra fler kulturella saker nästa år, och även hitta passande aktiviteter för barnen.

Jobbet jag fick är inte helt vad jag vill göra, dessutom är det bara en tillfällig anställning till och med juni. Så även om privatlivet har varit bra under året känner jag att fortfarande är på samma plats i arbetslivet som jag var för ett år sedan.Med åldrande morföräldrar känns det som om 2016 kommer bli rätt tufft, men jag hoppas göra framsteg i arbetslivet och hitta något som passar mig bättre. Jag hoppas att i slutändan kommer det bra att överstiga det dåliga.

Goals

Sewing with a plan

First successful plan...more to come

First successful plan…more to come

I will keep on sewing with seasonal plans, to build my sardrobe but also because the group is filled with knowledgeable people and it’s big enough to have a variety of styles and shapes but small enough to recognize everyone. In order to keep learning new techniques and fabrics I will try and add something new to me for each plan. It’s not yet set in stone, but things on my list include fly front, a lined jacket and swimwear. Let’s see what makes it to the plans.

Sy med en plan
Jag vill fortsätta sy årstidsplaner, för att bygga en garderobmen också för att gruppen är fylld med duktiga människor. Gruppen är tillräckligt stor för att innehålla många former och stilar men tillräckligt litenför att känna igen de flesta. För att lära mig nytt ska jag lägga till plagg och detaljer jag inte är så bra på, det jag funderar på är gylf, ytterplagg och simkläder.

Sew other things than clothing

So, I mainly sew garments for myself. In 2015 I sewed a few things for the kids, Gustav loved most of his things, Erika is quite picky with what she wears. I want to continue sewing for them, at least occasionally, now that they’re over the age of changing sizes every couple of months. I’m also interested in sewing a few bags, Grainline’s Portside is waiting for me and maybe I’ll make Gustav a school bag for when he starts school in the fall (which I cannot yet comprehend, he’s old enough to be in school!

Jag syr mest kläder till mig själv. Jag har sytt lite till barnen, Gustav bär det jag har sytt, men Erika är mer kräsen. Jag vill sy till dem, då och då i alla fall, nu när de inte längre byter storlek var månad. Jag är också nyfiken på att sy väskor, Grainlines Portside-väska ligger och väntar på mig och jag kanske syr en skolväska till Gustav. Tänk att han ska börja skolan!

Make photo books

In the digital era we take plenty of photos, but most of them are kept in our computer. I want to work on photo books, not albums but books, for the kids, for ourselves and for others to keep the best memories easy at hand to look at and reminisce about.

I denna digitala tidsålder tas många bilder men de flesta lämnar inte datorn. Jag vill göra fotoböcker, till oss, till barnen och till andra för att bevara de bästa minnena nära till hands att titta på.

Learn New Things
As I mentioned above I will add new details to the garments I plan to practice them. For example, in my upcoming spring plan, I will have a skirt with a fly front and outerwear, something I haven’t sewn before. I even have some swimsuit fabric at home, do I dare to enter the world of swimwear?

Som jag skrev ovan ska jag ha plagg i mina planer med nya detaljer och tekniker. En kjol med gylf och en jacka väntar i vårplanen och vågar jag sy simkläder till sommaren?

I know, that’s only four goals, but they cover what I want to do, craft-wise, for the upcoming year. I hope you will continue to follow me through these plans in the upcoming year. Until then, I wish you a Happy New Year!

Det blev bara fyra mål men de täcker vad jag vill göra inom sömnad och pyssel. Jag hoppas att du följer med på resan under kommande år. Men nu är det dags att önska Gott nytt år!

One thought on “2015 Summary: Reflections, Highlights and Goals

  1. Pingback: SWAP: Spring 2016 | By Eitchy

Leave a Reply

